Revel in Routine

Confession time:  I love routine.  I love laying out my clothes the night before a run.  I love preparing the coffee maker for the morning while I contemplate all the great things I want to accomplish tomorrow.   I love getting up for an early morning run and marking the start of my day with an hour just for me.  I love sitting down to read my favorite blogs and comics while I eat breakfast, taking one last moment to myself before the work day begins.  (Yes, even my breakfast is routine — 2 Kashi blueberry waffles, 1 Tbs fresh ground peanut butter, 1 tsp syrup, and big cup of coffee with a dash of soymilk.)

Like most things in life, I didn’t realize how much I valued my routines until I kicked them to the curb over the Christmas holidays.  Don’t get me wrong — I was thrilled to sleep late, wear jeans to work, run in the afternoon once it warmed up a bit (or even skip a few runs, as the case may have been), and do whatever sounded like fun in the evenings.  It was a much-needed break from the hectic work and exercise schedule that I maintain the rest of the year.  But, I was struck with an amazing sense of calm when the week began and things returned to “normal.”  Of course, there are a few things that became normal in 2009 that I’m hoping not to repeat in 2010.  To the rest of the world, these are resolutions, but I like to think of them as pacts with myself.  You know, like the hopeful promises you made to your BFF in elementary school.  But, I digress; these are stories for another day…

Sometimes I wish I was one of those completely free-spirited people who wakes up every day without a plan, simply doing whatever comes to mind and reveling in NOT have a routine.  Alas, I am not.  Perhaps, this is yet another reason I love running… The run time (5:15) and location (RunOn!) may be the same, but the route changes every day and can even change on a moment’s notice if you so choose.  In the end, though, routine prevails as we make our back to the store and re-group to stretch and commiserate about the week.

So, Routine, while everyone around me seems to begrudge your return, I salute you, and welcome you back with open arms.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in faves on fitness, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

