Back to Basics

One of my pacts for this year is to revive my passion for cooking.  Time got away from me last year and my plate always seemed full.  But, no excuses this year!  To start the year off on the right foot, we invited friends over for a nice, quiet NYE dinner rather than deal with the fuss of going out for an over-priced and often mediocre meal.

The biggest thing I’ve learned cooking for others, whether a small dinner or a big party, is that simple is always better.  So, I went back to basics for this one, and we made our Penne with Sausage & Sundrieds, a simple spinach salad, and a balsamic dipping sauce for rosemary sea salt bread (which was consumed so quickly, primarily by me, that it didn’t get photographed!).

Even Savannah begged to try a bite (or ten), and leftovers barely made it to mid-week, so I think it was a success.

My goal is to cook at least one mess-up-the-kitchen and sit-down-at-the-dinner-table meal each week and, hopefully, enjoy it so much that it starts happening two or three times a week. I promise to share at least all the successes, and maybe a few failures, too. 🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

