Whirlwind Week-ends

Take a deep breath, buckle up, and hang for dear life! When I woke up last Monday morning, I just thought I knew how crazy the week would be. As it turned out, I had no idea…

Monday actually wasn’t bad; I put in a solid 10-hour workday topped off with some much-needed hot yoga.  Monday night, though, I learned that I needed in Houston for a meeting on Thursday and Friday. I had been looking forward to attending an RRCA coaching class (also in Houston) on Friday and Saturday for months.

I would not be deterred.  Somehow, I would make this work. Tuesday, I had a great 5-mile run; followed by a crazy workday, which was briefly interrupted by a magical moment of greatness; followed by a one-hour spin class. By Wednesday, I was seriously questioning whether I’d make it… I put in a 15-hour workday and was up until after midnight packing, which wouldn’t have been so bad except that my 6:00 flight meant a 4:00 alarm!

Suddenly, things started looking brighter. My meeting went smoothly; I made it to class on Friday; and B drove down to join me in Houston. (I’ll be gushing about all the things I learned for weeks, so stay tuned.) Friday night, we dined on Spanish tapas and got to just relax and chat, away from the hustle and bustle of our ordinary lives. Saturday night, we were back in the Big D.

When Sunday rolled around, I thought what better to way to finish off this whirlwind weekend than one more crazy day? I woke up at 7:30 and decided to run a 15k that started at 8:30. I convinced myself it would just be a training run, but (big surprise) I got out there and couldn’t help but race it just a little bit.

I finished the race in 1:15, which placed me 9/75 in my age group and 29th overall female! I’m pretty darn happy, especially considering that I put in ZERO planning (abnormal for me) and shaved over 10 minutes off my time in the same race last year.

I refueled on whole grain pancakes and coffee while browsing through all the great pictures that B captured of the race. Then, it was time to gear up for a bike ride. Yes, more exercise — why not?!? Because my cycling class is indoors, I’ve committed to get in at least one outdoor ride each week, and this was the only day I had left!

30 miles and an hour-and-half later, my legs were spent, but I quickly found the road to recovery nestled in a basket of sweet potato french fries.  These are, by far, my guiltiest food pleasure!  Sweet potatoes are full of beta carotene, vitamin C and vitamin B6, so they must be good for you, right?

If you’re still reading this, I know what you’re thinking… Does this woman ever stop? Why not just “be” every once and a while? You’re right; I probably should. And, I won’t lie, part of me is exhausted.  But, looking back on the week, I kind of like my life on the run. Always engaging, often entertaining, and, in the end, totally fulfilling.

So, here’s to making it work and hoping for another great week!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cycling, faves on fitness, life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

