the Power of Pancakes

I heart breakfast. More specifically, pancake breakfast. I could eat pancakes morning, noon and night (for a few days at least). Not just any ‘ol buttermilk pancakes, though, I’m talking about whole grain, pumpkin spice, gingerbread, granola, and an untold number of other yummy flavors!

I trace this obssession back to one of the  best breakfast joints on Earth — a little cafe in Austin called the Omeletrry. They lovingly refer to their gingerbread pancakes as “Prozac on a Plate,” and the name couldn’t be more fitting! Nothing will lift your spirits faster than a bite of their thick, cake-like, so-big-they-fall-off-the-plate gingerbread pancakes.

Much to my dismay, I can NOT find a restaurant in Dallas that serves gingerbread pancakes. A few places have indulged me by adding chopped crystalized ginger into their buttermilk pancake batter, but this just isn’t the same.

So, you can imagine my excitement when I recently stumbled onto a gingerbread pancake recipe courtesy of Joy the Baker. (If you haven’t met Joy, you really should check out her blog!) I’ve always considered myself more of a cook than a baker. Baking requires precise measurements (which involves math – not exactly my forte), while cooking allows you to toss whatever sounds good into a pan. A few months ago, though, Brad and I had the pleasure of working alongside Abacus Pastry Chef, Rick Griggs. By the end of the night, I knew I’d missed my calling in life. We played with chocolate for hours (I still have some embedded in my shoes!), geeked out on plating things to look as fantastic as they tasted, and learned that nothing makes people happier than dessert. 🙂  But, I digress… back to the pancakes…

I looked forward to making these pancakes all weekend.  As always, I modified the recipe to lighten things up, but the flavor did not disappoint!!  I’m hoping practice makes perfect because they weren’t the prettiest pancakes on the planet.  But, I was afraid no one would believe that I finally made it back into the kitchen unless I snapped a quick photo.

The entire breakfast – coffee, pancakes, and bacon – came together in less than 30 minutes, and left my taste buds, my belly and my soul were very happy.

The rest of the weekend also didn’t disappoint… two great runs, a day of camera and lens shopping (which spawned my lust for a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS USM macro lens so that I can really go nuts with food styling and photography), and an offensive t-shirt party.  Hope y’all had a great weekend, too!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

