Chilly = Chili

The trade-off for dealing with the Texas heat is supposed to be a mild winter, but it certainly hasn’t felt that way this year.

I don’t  mind the rain. I don’t mind the cold. I don’t even mind the wind. Put them altogether and invite them to hang out for weeks on end, and I start to get a wee bit cranky and restless. Bad news for my friends and family, but apparently good news for my kitchen.

This dreary winter weather and lingering cold that I can’t seem to kick are making me crave spicy soups like crazy!!! Because the soups that you order at restaurants or buy at the store have like a week’s worth of sodium, I set out on a mission to create my own. (As an aside, I normally don’t get too worried about sodium. As a runner, even in the winter, you sweat out a ton of critical minerals, including the sodium you need to help take in water. So, the fact that commercial soups have too much sodium, even for me, is not a good sign.)

Because we’re in Texas, chili seemed a great place to start this adventure. You may recall from my cooking confession that the last “real” meal I cooked several weeks ago also happened to be chili. So, what gives?  Well, the last recipe was good, but not great. I actually have cooked a few meals since then, but I decided it was time for revenge and refinement of the chili recipe. (That, and I was worried that if Brad and I went to Jason’s Deli for yet another chili dinner, they might start feeling sorry for us.)

I know what you’re thinking… chili on Monday night?  There’s no time. But, the great thing about chili is that all the cooking time is inactive. After our Sunday evening trek to the grocery store (yes, we went to the store during the Super Bowl; no, much to our dismay, it was not a ghost town), I prepped all the veggies for the week.   So, when I got home from work around 6:30, all I had to do was throw a bunch of stuff into a pot.  One hour and many email replies later, dinner was ready.

I’m happy to report that it was a great success!

I will almost certainly make a few changes next time — in part because I think it still needs some tweaking, and in part because I can’t seem to leave well enough alone.  🙂

I added this latest creation to my recipe page, which, I admit, is a meager work-in-progress. To keep me honest, I always work up nutritional information (courtesy of the recipe builder on MyFoodDiary.com) and will post it along with the recipes.

Enjoy!  🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

