Winter Wonderland

Part II of what was officially the snowiest day on record in Dallas.  Official snowfall: 12.5 inches.  Snowfall in our backyard: 7 inches.  Height of our first snowman: 5.9 feet.

I will not soon forget how surreal our street was this morning…

Now, about the snowman.  I must warn you — we went a little nuts with the snowman-building.  I’ve never built a snowman before.  Ever.  It’s been 46 years since Dallas saw this much snow, so I may never build a snowman again, at least not in my own yard.  Ever.  Ergo, I saw no shame in making it count!

Okay, you’ve been warned.

Thank goodness someone in our household had some snowman-building experience because, as a Texan (and not just any ‘ol Texan, a “city girl” one), I was clueless.  As it turns out, there is some serious strategy to building a sturdy snowman.  We gathered up as much snow as we could, used a spray water bottle as glue, and spent nearly an hour packing in and chiseling the snow to make our Frosty.  While doing so, we heard things like… “Wow, that’s a serious snowman.”  “Good grief, that thing is huge.”  I’m not sure whether these were meant as little jabs at our childishness or as compliments, but we were beaming with pride.  🙂

I literally broke a sweat… in the snow… which was kind of nice since I haven’t gotten in a workout since Tuesday.  I can’t remember the last time I went three consecutive days without a run!

All of this hard work warranted a yummy breakfast by the fireplace at the neighborhood Cafe Brazil.  And this not-so vegetarian omelette (made with egg whites and loaded with veggies, feta, and chorizo) sure hit the spot.

Then, it was back to the snow day…

Dear Mother Nature,  Thanks for the memories!  Love, Beth

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, photography faves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

