Venerable Valentine

In principle, I am not a huge fan of Valentine’s Day.  We have too many Hallmark holidays, and the fact that people need a reason to be romantic makes me a little  sad. I’d rather be showered with small, random acts of kindness throughout the year than one big gift on one solitary day — and I try to do the same.

In application, though, I LOVE Valentine’s Day. The crafty little valentines we made as kids. The huge box of candy hearts I always got from my parents. The houses and stores decked in romantic, red decor. And, all those fun, flirty valentine cards (yes, even the Hallmark ones, though I’m a huge Papyrus fan myself).

This is my fourteenth year with my Valentine. Somehow, every year seems just as fun and even more meaningful than the year before.  This year, Valentine’s Day meant …

… returning from my long run to find little boxes of chocolate candy hearts in all my routine places — my key drawer, my computer, my makeup cabinet, my pillow, and probably several other spots I haven’t even found yet.  (As a side note, I didn’t even know they made chocolate candy hearts.  Seeing as I’ve never met a chocolate I didn’t like, this may be one of the greatest finds EVER.)  Update 1: also in my coffee beans and my pantie drawer.  Update 2: and the box that holds my favorite running shoes. I’m told there are at least two more. Sure hope they don’t have an expiration date! 🙂

… having a good breakfast with great friends.

… taking an afternoon nap.

… making my sweetie’s favorite cupcakes — dark chocolate with peanut butter frosting, topped with his favorite crest coat of arms crest.  (Yes, really. It was too cute.)  (Since then, a great debate has been brewing as to whether it is a crest or a coat of arms.  As it turns out, a crest is technically only one part (the small image at the top) of the coat of arms. Nonetheless, Porsche clubs across the country call it a “crest,” and I’m pretty sure everyone knew what I meant. So, crest it is. Moving on…)

… cooking a sinfully delicious meal — petite filet with gorgonzola sauce, wild mushroom risotto, and roasted asparagus.  (A surefire way to make sure neither of us misses a workout this week, but totally worth it!!  For the record, though, I ate much more asparagus and less risotto than you see on this plate. I promise.)

… letting dinner get cold and having to re-heat it because we were having so much fun taking pictures of it.  🙂

I wouldn’t have changed a thing!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking, life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Venerable Valentine

  1. LaunaKae says:

    Hi Beth,
    My name is LaunaKae and I am a friend of your MIL,and I am from snowy Pa. LOL It sounds like you had a lovely Valentines day. I may just be a little jealous.

    • Beth says:

      Hey LaunaKae, It’s nice to cyber-meet you and thanks for dropping in. 🙂 Yes, it was a lovely day, especially for two people who allegedly don’t like Valentine’s Day. Enjoy the snow in Pa. Ours is long gone, but made for a nice treat while it lasted!

  2. Vivian Bedell says:

    Hi Beth, LaurnaKae has about 27 inches and something like 9 degrees..HAHA…she is past enjoying it. I love you Journal on here. You and Brad sounded like you had a lovely day. I did see your snow pictures, sent them to LaurnaKae, that is how she has your web.. My 4 inches of snow is long gone also. I really like it that way. Love….

    • Beth says:

      Wow, I’d be well past enjoying snow at that point, too! I’m anxious for it start warming up so that I don’t have to pile on 3 layers of clothes to get in a good run/ride. Glad you are enjoying the journal and improved weather. xoxo ~b

Leave a Reply

