Awesomeness of Authenticity

Bring on change!  And, indulge me while I explain…

As I approached (and, now, have settled in to) my 30’s, things started to come together. I have a strong sense of self.  I am comfortable being 100% me.  I realize that I don’t have to pick only one path in life or to be a person who fits precisely into one mold.  I’ve stopped apologizing for the way I prioritize my life. . .   The fact that I put family first doesn’t make me any less of a good lawyer.  The fact that I make time to run, cycle, or yoga isn’t selfish because being healthy helps ensure that I’ll still be here in another 30 years.  And, the fact that I am hellbent on making  my career, my personal life, and my many hobbies co-exist doesn’t make me indecisive; instead, it makes me a unique, well-rounded person who can actually carry on a conversation with just about anyone.

It’s like that moment when a great sauce reaches the perfect reduction.  In the beginning, all of the ingredients and flavors you threw into the saucepan had no idea what to do together.  Over time, they marinate and learn to play nice.  The main flavors take center stage; the spices take their places as supporting actors; and the end result is irresistible.  But, I digress.  We were talking about authenticity, right?

Authentic, adj., 2. “true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character.”  Synonyms: bona fide, being actually and exactly what is claimed; genuine, implying actual character not counterfeited, imitated, or adulterated.

So, the evolution of this blog and its changing look is all part of finding the best way to reflect “me.”  The balance of work and play.  The juxtaposition of simplicity and complexity.  And, always sincere with just a dash of sarcasm and good humor.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

