Small Stuff

I generally subscribe to the belief that the things that matter most in life aren’t things at all.  But, I must confess that the small things sure can lift your spirits on a gloomy day.

Today had all the makings of a great day — a good night’s sleep, beautiful weather, and smiling faces.  Yet, for reasons I still can’t explain, it quickly took a turn for the worse.

I’ve had an unbelievably stressful two weeks.  I suppose I was bound to snap eventually and, boy, was it a good one.  In my overly-sensitive state, I got hung up on things that didn’t matter, forgot to view the forest through the trees, and ended up saying things I didn’t mean to a person who didn’t deserve it.  Why is it that when we snap, it is never at the real problem, but more often directed towards those who have supported us all along?  If ever there was a day that I needed a “restart button,” it was today.

Determined to learn from my mistake by not letting one snapped tree take down the entire forest, I set out to salvage the day.  And, dare I say, I succeeded . . . 

This may seem like no big deal, but I warned you:  This day was all about the small stuff.  There are several small, but amazing, things about this photo.

First, I’m wearing flip-flops. We’ve had a record-setting Winter here in Dallas, and I haven’t worn flip-flops in months.  This alone made my heart just a little bit happier today.

Second, I have freshly-painted toenails.  I haven’t gotten a pedicure in eight months.  One of the side effects of marathon training that no one warns you about is the loss of toenails.  Losing a couple of small ones was not earth-shattering, because the miracle workers at my nail salon always found a way to make my feet look ‘normal’.  But, when I had my right big toenail surgically removed last July, it not only hurt like heck and forced me to take a week off, it also looked terrible.  As much as I appreciated all the reassurance that this was a “badge of honor,” the truth is that I’m girlie-girlie and I missed having cute feet.  This was a momentous occasion.

Third, the calm, beautiful sky speaks for itself.  Mother Nature is an amazing woman.

And, right about the time that I finally relaxed and let go of the morning, this came floating by…

So, while I can’t say that I’m exactly back at square one, I was reminded of two very important things today: (1) sometimes the small stuff is exactly what you need to make your soul smile; and (2) you are most likely to find contentment as soon as you stop looking for it.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, photography faves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

