Pause, Please

At the end of a very long, crazy, and unpredictable workweek, I couldn’t be more thankful to have had one of those great weekends that you don’t want to end.

The weekend started off relatively unplanned and uneventful, for me at least.  On Friday afternoon, when a friend innocently asked me if I had any plans for the weekend, the following exchange ensued…

Me: Well, gosh, I don’t know.  This week has been so crazy that I’ve barely even thought about the weekend.  I have no idea what we’re doing!  How about you?

J: I might play some golf on Saturday, and I don’t know about Sunday.

Me (after having an epiphany): Oh, yeah, Sunday.  Well, I’m running in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon, and then I have a photography class Sunday afternoon.  Oh, and there’s a bike race on Saturday that I might photograph.  But, I don’t know what we’re going to do for dinner.

J: Oh my god, are you kidding? I’d hate to see what a “planned” weekend looks like. You’re nuts.

Me: Well, I had a 13-mile run on my training schedule anyway, and the photography class is only a few hours.  I mean, it’s not that much, really.

J gives me the look.  You know, the one that says, “Wow, you don’t really believe what you just said, do you?”

As it turned out, J was right (I hate it when that happens!).  After a mere 48 hours, I am now the proud owner of 2,000 pictures from a bicycle race, a lovely sunburn, a new personal best half marathon time, a wealth of camera knowledge, and a house that looks like a tornado came through.

How did this happen, you ask?

After sleeping in Saturday morning, Brad and I spent 6 hours in Denton snapping shots at a bicycle race.  Brad remembered sunscreen.  I did not.  But, seeing moments like this keeps me coming back for more…

Saturday night, my pre-race rituals began.  I ate a burger and fries, studied the course map, packed my gear check bag, laid out my clothes, and gave Brad tips for where to spot me on course…

After springing forward and losing an hour of sleep, I forced myself out of bed Sunday morning, and made it to the start line of the Inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Dallas half marathon with literally 3 minutes spare.  I started the morning with the intent of making this an easy run – just a fun way to get in my 13 miles.  If I feel good at the halfway point, then I can pick it up, I told myself.  I felt okay the first half, but by mile 7, I really felt great.  (The fact that it takes me nearly an hour to warm up is really annoying, by the way!)  I decided to just run where the pace felt good, and, when I hit mile 12, I realized that I might actually set a PR.

Brad did not need my ‘tips’ for where to spot me on course.  He found me not once, not twice, but three times.  And, he even ran part of the last mile with me at a 7:15 min/mile pace!  (Much to the chagrin of the guy next to me, who wasn’t too fond of being paced by a guy toting a camera.)

When I crossed the finish line in 1:43:46, I was ecstatic!!!  It was a minute faster than the White Rock Half last December, and a much more fun, feel-good race.  I thanked all the volunteers along the way, cheered on other runners, high-fived kids on course, and didn’t yell at Brad when he asked me to smile for the camera this time (of course, he also didn’t have to ask).  🙂

So far, in my short running career, I’ve set a PR in every half marathon.  I know this streak eventually will come to an end.  But, for now, I am lovin’ it!

After a yummy breakfast of cinnamon raisin french toast and egg whites (devoured before it could be photographed), I cleaned up and got ready for camera class.  We reviewed a lot, learned some new stuff, and got to speak ‘camera’ for three hours.

On that note, I’d like to hit *pause* now.  I want to stay right here and be present in this moment for a while before another Monday rolls around….

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cycling, faves on fitness, photography faves, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

