Lovely Lola

Meet: Lola.  The newest member of our family.  My fantabulous camera bag.

From the moment I first laid eyes on Lola, I could think of only one word: Lust.

Most people think of “lust” as a bad thing, a deadly sin.  But, I’m convinced that lust is a wonderful thing; a thing we could all use more of in life.  (There, I said it. Bring on the hate mail.)  Sir Webster defines lust as “pleasure, delight, intense or unbridled desire, or an intense longing.”  How can these be bad?  But, I digress…

Granted, Lola was not cheap.  But, then again, neither was her precious cargo.

She probably should have fallen in the “want” category as opposed to the “need” category.  But, I couldn’t help myself.  So much so that I quickly placed an order, despite Brad’s insistence that we should hold off on buying more camera goodies, hoping that I could seek forgiveness later.

Little did I know that my sweet hubby actually was trying to delay my purchase so that he could bring home Lola as a surprise.  A week later, we were the proud owners of not one, but two, fantabulous camera bags.  Boy, did I botch that one!

I’ve found all sorts of ways to justify ‘needing’ this bag so badly that I uncharacteristically ordered it the moment I saw it.

  • Lola is red.  I love red.  It is, hands-down, my favorite color.  I attribute this to having been a redhead for the first few years of life.  Red also is the color of lust.  I’m noticing a trend here…
  • Lola looks fashionable even while holding my Canon 5d, my favorite lens (these days, a 24mm, 50mm or 100mm macro), and my girlie personal items.
  • With Lola by my side, I am (inconspicuously) locked and loaded to photograph one of my favorite subjects: food.  You see, I look crazy enough whipping out a camera and forcing people to go hungry while I take pictures of our scrumptious meals.  Now, instead of wearing a camera around my neck or lugging around in an enormous padded black bag, I just look like a regular girl toting my stylish handbag into a restaurant.
  • Lola is my reward for having a killer night on my bike.  The same week that I rushed to place my order, I had my third of four threshold tests in my cycling class.  Despite having had a ridiculously stressful workweek and very little sleep, I rallied the troops and pulled out great numbers – even more than I thought I was capable of on a good day.  I’m a huge believer in creating rewards for yourself, even for life’s little accomplishments.
  • Lola is the next step on my journey of growing my many hobbies into something bigger.  I am working on a new website, designing logos, dreaming up more recipes, and contemplating more certifications.  Stay tuned!  🙂

Convinced that you need a Lola in your life, too?  Check out the masterminds at epiphan!e.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in photography faves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

