Tricky Time

This post also could have been titled: Be Careful What You Wish For….

At the beginning of this year, I was content with just feelin’ the float.  Eventually, though, all crossroads require us to make a decision.  While I’m still content floating through certain aspects of life, the time had come for me to pick a fork in my career path.  Like all major crossroads, my decision did not come easily (although recent events have made it easier).  But, from where I’m sitting, the future has never looked brighter.

One of the many consequences benefits of my decision is that I will have exactly what I’ve wanted for many years now: More time for life.

But, what does a girl do when she gets exactly what she wished for?  This is terribly cliche, but when I actually had time for myself, I initially I had no idea what to do.  Having spent weekend after weekend working, whether in the office, around the house, running errands or all three, I had nearly forgotten how to just be.

To put into perspective how desperate I was for time…

When my mom asked for my Christmas list last year, it consisted of one thing: Time.  My sweet little sister gave me just that.  Well, almost just that.  She painted a pot, bagged some organic potting soil, and gave me a packet of thyme.

She really couldn’t have made this any easier — unless she planted it herself, of course.  Yet, still, the pot, soil and seeds have moved from counter to counter since Christmas.  Funny how they never planted themselves.

As one chapter of my work life comes to an end this week, I decided to kick-off the next chapter with an early weekend celebration.

I planted thyme.

Somehow this simple act didn’t feel simple at all.  I not only planted what should will grow into my second favorite herb (sorry, thyme, but basil holds a special place in my heart), but I also laid the foundation for my new focus on balancing life and making time for myself.

So, here’s to hoping that I do more with this new path than just kill thyme…

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

