Herb Heaven

To my fellow foodies, today’s confession will come as no surprise: I LOVE HERBS!

Having said that, you can imagine my delight to discover that it was Herb Fest weekend at Central Market. 🙂

I have been not-so patiently waiting throughout our long, miserably cold winter for tomatoes and basil to be tasty again.  And while they still aren’t exactly ‘in season’ this did not stop me from making my first herbaceous concoction of the year…

Behold:  Tomato & Edamame Salad.

Simple? Yes.  Boring? No.  The combination of juicy tomatoes (here, sweet 100’s because they looked the best), bright herbs, and good sea salt is like a party in your mouth!

A few words about the “dressing”… I don’t like a lot of dressing on my salad.  I think dressings should be more vinegary than oily.  Ergo, this salad is uber-healthy.

It also makes the perfect companion for this main dish…

I know what you’re thinking, “How could you ruin a perfectly healthy dinner with a burger?”  So, I’m going to let you in on a few little secrets:  Beef is good for you.  You don’t have to eat a fatty full-pound burger to be satisfied.  And, every once and a while, you must give in to a craving.

I made these burgers using 3 cowboy burger patties from Central Market.  Each is made with extra lean beef, parsley, garlic, a little bacon, and, I suspect, several other fabulous things that I haven’t yet convinced the butcher to disclose (this is only a matter of time!).  When you buy these patties at CM, each weighs about 1/2 pound.  I re-shaped them to make 6 smaller ones, Brad graciously grilled them (a.k.a. played with fire), and we served them on toasted ciabatta rolls (because I find a way to add an Italian twist to just about every meal).

Voila — a quick, satisfying dinner that you don’t have to feel guilty about devouring!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

