Challenging Change

I’ve tried desperately to distract you with stories of my love for Lola, my weekend getaway, and my latest kitchen creations.  Despite my best efforts, however, I have a sneaking suspicion that what you really want to know about is my new job.

Initially, the last thing I wanted to do here was write about work.  I like to think of this blog as a space to indulge my other passions and to muse about life.  But, whether we like it or not, work is a huge part of life.  And, I’ll admit that I’m guilty of alluding to my big decision and then leaving you hanging.

So be it.  The time has come to answer the burning question: How’s the new gig?

The PC response:  The new job is great.  I love it!  Never been better!

Lucky for you, I’m anything but PC.  And, as a good friend pointed out, I’m approaching this situation as I do everything in life: with (surprisingly) brutal, but (hopefully) refreshing, honesty.

Truth be told:  Change is challenging.  You might even say that change sucks.  I had been practicing law at the same firm with the same people for six years.  It only took three days for me to get used to the keyless, push-button start feature on my loaner car while my car was in the shop last week (infinitely cooler than sliced bread, by the way).  So, you can imagine how set in my ways I’d become after six years in the same office!

Change is not conducive to my inner nesting, neat-freak.  Case in point: When I arrive at a hotel, I must immediately unpack, put things away, and ‘move in’ to the space; then, the fun can begin.  It’s been one week, and I still have boxes brimming with files, artwork on the floor, and a desk layout that changes daily.  How am I supposed to be at my best when it takes what feels like eternity just to find my favorite pen, check my voicemail, or file a document?

Change is forcing me to acknowledge that I had gotten lazy.  As the new kid on the block, you can’t help but feel some pressure to prove yourself all over again.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m not working crazy hours and saying “yes” to everything like a baby attorney right out of law school.  The only reward for doing that is a one-way ticket to Burnoutville, which would defeat one of the purposes of my move to a reduced-hour position.  I am, however, keenly aware of the fact that this is my chance to make a first impression, to let my superstar shine, and to solidify that they made the right decision.   This energy and excitement has made me ponder whether how I had become apathetic about my old job.  As the saying goes, “Those who do not learn from history are bound to repeat it,” and I simply refuse to do so.

Is my list of cons a little daunting?  Yes.

Am I having buyer’s remorse?  Not hardly!

The people are fantastic — warm, genuine, friends, a real team.  The work is great — diverse clients, interesting issues, 100% my specialty (employment litigation and counseling),  lots of it.  The hours will be manageable but still rewarding — solid caseload, ‘real’ work, no expectation that I will put in 60-80 workweeks all year long.

On the whole, I’ve concluded that my list of “cons” is attributable to change in general, not to my new job itself.  There is a whole host of reasons that I left my old firm and joined my new one.  Those reasons have not changed.  But, it’s time for me to change.

So, I will not let change be a challenge.  Instead, I will challenge this change to make me a better person, to solidify my confidence in my abilities, to keep me sharp, and to energize me in all aspect of life.

Now, get back to work…….

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenging Change

  1. Brad says:

    Try leaving the suitcase packed for the day after we get to the next hotel. It’s vacation, you shouldn’t care about silly habits. 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    As the beneficiary of my “silly habits,” you probably shouldn’t diss them. But, if this means you’re offering up another vacation soon, I suppose I can give it a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

