Sunday Supper: Meatsplats

I have good news and bad news.  Which do you want first?  Okay, great.  I’m a good news girl, too…

Good news:  I’m actually making time to cook again!

I recently stumbled across a delightful food blog called Cooking for Seven.  While perusing Erica’s fabulous recipes and photos, I was struck by her participation in Magazine Mondays.  To encourage people to actually use their cooking magazines, yet another food blogger invited people to post a dish made from a new recipe each week, typically on Mondays.

I’m a huge sucker for new cookbooks.  I read them as if they were actual books.  Seriously.  I sit down and read a new cookbook from cover to cover, armed with pens, post-its, and grand dreams of trying new things.  Yet, somehow, rather than having a growing repertoire of go-to dishes, I have a ridiculously large collection of cookbooks and magazines filled with notes and dog-eared pages that have never been used.

This is why the idea of Magazine Mondays really resonated with me.  But, Mondays are no good.   In fact, Mondays are usually crazy, so there is a high probability that I’ll be stuck at the office late.  If I’m not, I like use to my rest day (from running and cycling, that is) to go to hot yoga.  Those 90 minutes of “me time,” meditating, stretching and detoxing, are the perfect way to start my week.  And, if I do get stuck late and miss yoga, the last thing I want to do is cook dinner.

So, instead, I am trying Sunday Suppers.  Sunday is already grocery store day, and our Sunday evenings are usually free.  So, Sunday is the perfect day to re-visit my cookbooks and magazines, find a new recipe, add a few extra ingredients to the list, and cook something new for dinner.

Now, for the bad news:  New recipes aren’t always great on the first try.

Case in point:  This evening’s adventure in making Pasta with Mini Chicken Meatballs.

Meatballs were a first for me, so I decided to start small (quite literally).  I made very few changes to a straight-forward recipe from Giada at Home.  Giada’s books are usually great resource.  What’s worse is that I found this recipe in the kid section, so it clearly should have been a no-brainer.

Alas, things went wrong.  The meatballs were way too wet.  I suspect this is because I used egg beaters instead of real eggs (in part to cut calories and in part because we always have egg beaters, but not eggs, in the fridge).  No matter how many bread crumbs I added, these little guys stayed stickier than molasses.  Because the meatballs were too moist, they were not keen on forming into tiny little balls, immediately spread out when dropped into the skillet, and looked more like pancakes than meatballs.

As Brad said, “Look, we have meatsplats!

Sadly, I couldn’t even argue with him.

Fortunately, once the dish came together, you almost didn’t notice the meatsplats. See…

And, regardless of their shape, they tasted pretty darn good.  So, despite my shortcomings, I posted the recipe (and nutritional info) here.

Hopefully, the next Sunday Supper will be equally as delicious, but better executed.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

