Sunday Supper: Mojito Chicken

So, technically, I cheated.  I stuck with an old favorite instead of trying something new, but I did cook dinner so I consider this a success. Yes, I know, I’m only on my second week of the “Sunday Supper” idea, and I’m already changing the rules.  But, I made up the rules in the first place so I feel entitled to change them!

If you try this dish, you’ll understand why it just sounded good.  Chicken.  Mint.  Rum.  Limes.  ‘Nuff said.

Mojito Chicken is pure genius.  It’s incredibly simple, but still creates a party in your mouth.  If you check out the recipe, you’ll notice it is from Robin Miller, the Food Network’s queen of Quick Fix Meals.  For some reason, it took me a long time to warm up to Robin.  I suppose that before I starting working, running, cycling, and generally being on-the-go 24/7, I thought that the idea of cutting corners was for sissies.

Over time, I’ve learned to appreciate her tips on creating flavor fast, making meal kits for easy weeknight cooking, and creatively re-purposing leftovers.  Plus, I met her a few years ago volunteering at the cooking school, and discovered that she is really delightful and totally, refreshingly normal.  She has a master’s degree in nutrition and worked her butt off to get  her own TV show and publish 8 books.

But, I digress… having completed that little apology, let’s get back to this Sunday’s supper…

You can serve Mojito Chicken over any grain you like.  I’ve tried couscous, orzo, quinoa, and brown rice.  Tonight, as a way of at least trying something new, we had whole wheat pearl couscous.  It didn’t soak up the yummy sauce quite as well as regular couscous or quinoa, but I liked the the chewy bite of the larger grain.  It’s almost like pasta, so it seemed much more satisfying.

Because every meal needs something green, I made a quick veggie salad.  I also make this a LOT, but what can I say — it’s just good.  Green Beans.  Edamame.  Salad dressing.  Feta cheese.  And, I threw in a red bell pepper to mix things up.

Finally, because today marked the last week of the half marathon class I’ve been coaching this Spring (a bittersweet ending, for sure), I thought a glass of wine was in order.

Dining outdoors on such a beautiful evening was a wonderful way to end the weekend and kick-off a new week.  This is why I love Sundays!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Supper: Mojito Chicken

  1. Morph Review says:

    Hi, merely a short comment to swing in and say thx for the insights in this article. I somehow came across your weblog while searching for exercise related things in Bing… guess I more or less lost my focus! Anyways I’ll be returning in the near future to check out your posts down the road. All the best!

  2. Beth says:

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving such a kind comment! I wouldn’t say you lost focus that much, but I hope you ultimately found what you were looking for. 🙂

Leave a Reply

