Sunday Supper yields to Wonderful Weekend

Tonight’s dinner of brisket tacos and ‘ritas was a major success in the yummy, satisfy-a-craving department.  But, given that it took place at The Blue Goose, it was a complete failure in the try a new recipe and cook dinner at home department.

Have no fear!  This apparent failure was for a good cause, or at least resulted from a good cause.  It was a great fun-filled weekend.  It just wasn’t conducive to meal-planning or grocery shopping.

Friday night, we had tickets to Theatre Three – a small, theatre-in-the round that has been a staple of the Dallas arts community since 1961.  We’ve had season tickets for over five years now.  It sounds crazy, but we never even know what is showing.  We just show up on our ticket night ready to enjoy a great performance.  This week, it was a hilarious musical about two guys writing musical about two guys writing a musical.  Confused?  Go see [title of show].

Saturday was a blank slate.  I could ride my bike.  I could run.  I could go rock-climbing.  I could sleep.  The sky was the limit.  Ultimately, an easy pace bike ride with a small group of friends won.  Three and a half hours later, I had completed my longest bike ride to date (55 miles).  We topped off the ride with a fabulous brunch and then took off for a whirlwind tour of errands.

I hadn’t planned on running Sunday, but when a friend asked if I wanted to her join her, I couldn’t say no — with one caveat:  I had to run obscenely early because of my photography workshop.  She graciously accommodated me, and we had a great, tranquil 9.5-mile run around the lake.

I scurried from the lake to the house to the photography studio for a full day of hands-on lessons from some of the greatest in the business.  I can’t put into words (and probably still don’t fully appreciate) how much I learned today.  But, I can tell you that I had a blast hanging out with some adorable kiddos at the park.

There were monkey bars, swings, skinned knees, happy meals, and ice cream cones.

Seriously.  I want to be a kid again.

I promise to post a series of photos soon.  For now, though, I will leave you with a little sneak preview.

Can you get enough of that face?  I know I couldn’t.

When I got home, it was time for another practice ride on the tandem.  Oh yeah, Brad and I got a tandem bicycle earlier this week.  After our maiden voyage, we were not only still married, but actually wanted to do it again.  Tonight, we successfully rode about 30 miles and got home just in time for a great sunset.

After all of this, I was far too hungry, physically tired, and mentally exhausted to cook dinner.  Regardless, I still consider this weekend a smashing success.

The countdown for next weekend starts . . . now!  🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cycling, photography faves, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

