Bouncy Ball

I have only one word to describe my evening: Bizarro.

I knew it would be different because, rather than my typical workout, I was headed to the new Cowboys Stadium (a.k.a. “Jerry World”) — not for a football game, but for a 3-inch heel, cocktail attire, sit-down dinner honoring Boys & Girls Club of America.  My firm was sponsoring a table, so I figured it was the perfect opportunity to spend time with my new co-workers and meet some clients.  Plus, this was my first trek to the new stadium, so why not go in style?!

As always, I planned ahead and took Lola with me so that I could sneak a few shots of this, um, interesting event.  What I hadn’t planned for, however, was the response I received when I whipped out my camera.  It went something like this…

Me: “Okay, this is crazy. I have to get some pictures of this.” I pull out the camera.

Co-worker: “Oh good grief, don’t tell me that you’re into photography, too!  So, what, that’s running, cooking, writing and photography?”  She turns to another co-worker, “This woman is so well-rounded she’s like a bouncy ball.”

I’m hoping this was a compliment, but, frankly, I’m still not sure.  And, it only got worse as the evening progressed.

The setting may have been strange, but the company and conversation was delightful.  We bounced from traveling to marathons to bicycle racing to cooking to reality TV.  And, I never missed a beat.  (Sidenote: You should always learn a bit about the folks sitting at your dinner table before claiming to be a major marathon runner or bicycle racer.  You never know who might be sitting next to you to (inadvertently) call your bluff.  It’s embarrassing for everyone involved.)

I’m convinced this was purely coincidental.  Had the conversation shifted to sports or politics, I would have been speechless.  Instead, the harassment about my bouncy-ness continued until I literally became introduced as “Beth, as our bouncy ball.”  At least it’s memorable, right?

I snapped a few quick shots to memorialize the event, but this evening was more about socializing than photogging.  Nonetheless, check this out . . .  and thanks for putting up with my bouncy-ness.  🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bouncy Ball

  1. Brad says:

    Boing, Boing, Boing…

Leave a Reply

