Kool Kids

I am so excited to finally share these photos with you.

But, first, I have to say a few great things about the people at f8studio.  They are among the best in the business.  I was immediately captivated by their unique, photojournalist perspective when they shot my brother’s wedding in 2007.  (You don’t have to take my word for it, though.  In 2009, they were name one of the Top Ten Wedding Photographers by American Photo.)

When I learned that Huy Nguyen and Gary Donihoo were offering a workshop for amateur photographers, I had to go — this simply was not optional.  But, there was a catch: The Everyday Moments Workshop is designed for parents, which I am not. 

Learning the techniques of making great photos at home, parties, and sporting events seemed like a good thing regardless of the subject.  But, the fact remained:  Other than my sister’s baby shower a few weeks ago, I had zero experience with kids.  So, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.

Words cannot express how much fun I had at this workshop.

Seeing the world through a child’s eyes is extraordinary.  Catching a glimpse of a child’s excitement over an ice cream truck, a mother’s love for her daughter, and parents’ contentment watching their children play made my heart overflow.  Literally.  It’s been five days, and I’m still gushing.  I have newbie photography written all over my face!  I can’t wait to do it again.  Soon.  Very soon.  To my plethora of friends and family who are pregnant or new moms: You’ve been warned.  🙂

The L family was not new to being surrounded by cameras.  Both Mr. and Mrs. L are phenomenal photographers, which certainly upped the ante on wanting to do a good job with our assignment.  While I still have a LOT to learn, I’d like to think this was a pretty great start.  I hope they enjoy the photos that all of the students took that afternoon.

 

Let’s hope this is just the beginning of lots and lots of good times capturing great, everyday moments with friends both big and (especially) small.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in photography faves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

