Giving-in to Goals

It may not seem like it, but I’ve spent the last several months relatively goal-free.  No, really . . .

For the first time since October 2008, I have not been “training” for something .  Sure, I’ve been running and cycling, but it’s finally been just for fun.  Coaching a half marathon group – without having a “goal race” myself – was fantastic because I got to focus on helping others achieve their goals.  Cycling, as it turns out, wasn’t just great cross-training, but also an incredibly fun and much-needed break in my routine.  I’ve met some great people and gained a ton of strength and tenacity.  I won’t be giving it up any time soon.

For the first time since January 2009, I have not maintained my food diary.  Three.  Whole.  Weeks.  This is HUGE.  I had diligently recorded all of my meals for so long that it was actually hard to stop (at first).  This realization made me think that I might have a problem.

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I have not had every day planned before the week even begins.  I have purposefully avoided planning so that I can decide in any given afternoon what I feel like doing that evening.  What a concept, right?

Here’s the catch: Nothing makes you realize how great it is to have goals like accomplishing one. 

I’m still uber-energized about being one step closer to Financial Freedom as of this month. (Don’t worry; I’m not going to talk about money again.  It seems to spark some interesting comments, not all of which were said to my face – you gotta love that!  Lesson learned.)

The elation of seeing our hard work literally pay off has inspired me to set new goals.  So, I am putting pen to paper and saying them out loud to you – my closest friends and my anonymous blog-followers. 

1.  I will run the St. George Marathon on Oct. 2 – and qualify for Boston. 

I actually got in to SMG via lottery – amazing!  Surely, this means I am destined to get my Boston Marathon qualifying time (a.k.a. to running-junkies as a BQ).  I missed my BQ in Chicago by 45 seconds, but it was my first marathon, and I wasn’t really trying to BQ.  In fact, I had no idea how the rules worked.  So, this will be my first real “try.”  Today, right now, before training begins, I am setting a goal of finishing in 3 hours and 30 minutes.  I need to run a 3:40 to BQ, but a good friend who also is running SMG needs a 3:30, and I think I’ve got it in me.

2.  I will ride the Hotter ‘N Hell 100 – with Brad – on the tandem – in 4 hours.

Okay, reading this back to myself, it sounds a little crazy.  Ride 100 miles? Yes.  On the tandem? Sure.  In 4 hours? Woah!  But, on just our fourth tandem ride two weeks ago, we knocked out 60 miles at a 20.8 mph average, so there is hope.  We’re both strong, stubborn, and just silly enough to give it a whirl and make it work.  And, regardless of the outcome, we’ll have fun trying!

3.  I will give myself one day off my food diary each week.

When training starts up again on Tuesday, so does my food diary – proper nutrition is key.  I don’t care which day is my free day.  The point is that I will have one.  Hopefully, this will keep me sane and serve as a reminder that I can eat “right” without recording it all and having a computer tell me I got it “right.” 

4.  I will be more philanthropic.

I am very blessed to be able to do so many things in life just for me.  But, I also believe that I have a responsibility to give back.  Last year, I was part of a young lawyers leadership class where we were introduced to an untold number of volunteer opportunities.  And, my new firm is seriously dedicated to pro bono legal services.  So, I now have all the tools one could possibly need to get more involved.  Next month, I will take on my first adoption case.  Yippee!

Okay, I think that’s a good start.  I have a few other, more personal goals, but I’m not sure they are ready for public consumption . . . yet.  🙂 

Bring it on!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cycling, faves on fitness, life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

