Say Yes to S’mores & Sopapillas

So, I know that this is supposed to a belated Sunday Supper post, but the truth hurts: It didn’t happen.  Again.

It’s not for lack of planning.  I have the recipes all picked out, and I’ve been walking around with a grocery list in my wallet since Sunday.  It includes chicken, shrimp, asparagus, melons, lemons, prosciutto, lots of herbs, and a chimichurri sauce inspired by an Italian chef.  Greatness, here I come… someday… this week… really!!

Until then, though, I’ve been utterly enjoying the indulgences of summer.

I should preface this by saying that it’s all relative.  For a girl who loves being outdoors, the Texas summer just plain sucks.  (Did I mention that the truth hurts?)  Rather than wallow in the pool of sweat that I now turn into after every run and ride, I am trying to make the best of it.

When a friend extended an open-ended invitation to hang out by the pool on Sunday, I couldn’t say no.  When I learned that the invitation included making S’mores poolside, I was in heaven.  Some things are best appreciated in the summertime, and getting pruney in the pool with good friends is definitely one of them!

Tonight, we found ourselves near one of our old favorite Mexican restaurants.  It will go down in history as the only restaurant that ever got my best law school friend to drive outside her bubble to meet us for dinner.  The thought of walking down memory lane while noshing on free sopapillas was too tempting.  And, the grocery list was set aside once again.

Tomorrow night is my group bike ride, so I’m not even going to pretend that I’ll cook dinner.  Besides, Brad and I have a Tuesday night dining tradition that must be honored.  It sounds weird, but the Black Eyed Pea makes a fantastic tortilla soup.  Trust me.

But, Wednesday looks promising.  I have a MAJOR foodie event that is sure to get me in the cooking spirit.  Hint:  It involves me in the kitchen with the first female Iron Chef and Executive Chef of Bon Appetit.  If I can keep my cool long enough to get the prep work done without losing any fingers, I will consider it a huge success.

Wish me luck and stay tuned!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in faves on food, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

