Holiday Hangover

The one drawback to an extra-long weekend :: An extra-painful first-day of the workweek.

I’ve already confessed my affection for the Fourth of July, so you better believe I made the best of it!  I boycotted my watch, made zero plans, and pretty much did whatever I wanted.  This novel concept led to the following: bike time, run time, pool time, extra sleep, oodles of good grub (much to my tummy’s chagrin, as it turns out), two nights of fireworks, and tons of Tour de France-watching. Oh, and a self-taught, crash-course in CSS, which led to the blog’s look. What do you think?  (We’re all friends here, so be honest!)

Aside from the few occasions where I slipped into my running or cycling shoes, my feet spent the last four days looking something like this…

(Yes, despite the pool time, I still have a lovely sock tan.  Trust me, I have spared you.  All the sun-bathing in the world isn’t going to fix the super-hot tan lines I’ve got going right now!)

Today, I crammed my feet into work shoes, and desperately tried to get my head back into the game.

Whomever said it takes two weeks to form a new habit was dead wrong.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in faves on fitness, faves on food, life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Hangover

  1. kriggs1976 says:

    You are not the only one it tortured, lol. I had to step into my work shoes today to and they just did not fit right haha. Maybe tomorrow will be better!

  2. Hillary says:

    The best part of that photo is you have all ten toenails! Here’s to hoping you keep all of them this training season!

    • Beth says:

      Hah! Good catch 😉 And, I couldn’t agree more. They all grew back just in time for marathon training to start up again, so I’m hoping for much better luck this time!

Leave a Reply

