Dazed and Distracted

Have I seemed distracted lately?  Well, frankly, it’s because I am.

It’s not that I don’t love you.  You I know I do, right?  It’s that life has been keeping me on my toes these days, and I’m loving (almost) every minute of it.

Let’s start with the “almost” part . . .

Somehow, work got crazy.  I went from having my caseload and work hours totally in check to being inundated with projects, each of which I was told to make my “number one priority,” of course.  This day was inevitable.  Urgent, competing deadlines are the nature of working in a law firm where you have not one, but six bosses.  I am determined not to repeat the bad habits that I couldn’t seem to break at my old firm, so I’m trying to accept this as a learning opportunity.  I have added a new two-letter word to my vocabulary: “No.”  I am removing (or at least reducing my use of) a three-letter word: “Now.”  And, instead, giving realistic dates for when I can accomplish tasks on my reduced-hour work schedule.  The funny thing is that every time I do this, it actually works.  People respect my boundaries and haven’t pushed back.  In fact, more often than not, I am reminded that the “deal” I struck for this position is less hours and less stress, so I need to stick to my guns.  It is still a work-in-progress, but the key word here is progress.

Okay, now let’s move on to the fun distractions . . .

1.  I have new house fever.  Not “new” new house.  Just “new to us” new house.  I recently had an ah-hah moment when it comes to our housing situation.  Brad and I explored a house – and, when I say explored, I mean hopped a fence and poked around to our little hearts’ content because the listing agent still hasn’t called back or returned email.  We probably can’t (or shouldn’t) afford this house.  But, the fact that we’re both trying desperately to make it work helped us figure out where we want to go next.  I love our current house, but we need more room; we long for a home that hasn’t been haphazardly remodeled once every 20 years since 1924; and we want to live closer to White Rock Lake.  Of course, wanting a new house means selling our current house, which leads to my next distraction…

2.  I am in full-on spruce-up-the-old-house-so-that-we-can-get-it-on-the-market mode.  In the two weeks since we first start pining over another house, we have finished converting the attic into a functional storage space, rebuilt the driveway gate, gotten halfway through the process of adding board-on-boards to the existing fence, solicited landscaping quotes, and outlined a foundation plan.  Yes, we move fast!  (Note: I use the phrase “we” loosely here.  I like to think that my moral support and brain-storming skills are highly value-added, but, aside from my occasional use of a miter saw, which was both invigorating and terrifying, in case you’re wondering, Brad has done all the heavy lifting here.  His ability to pick up anything and just do it – pretty well, I might add – never ceases to amaze me.)

3.  I am totally rededicated to my marathon goal.  I wasn’t kidding when I said things got serious.  The countdown is on.  I am diligently back on my food journal; I confirmed our hotel reservation; I booked our flight to Vegas; and I secured a rental car for the drive from Vegas to St. George.  All I need now are a few great confidence-building runs, and I’ll be set!

4.  I desperately want to find “upstairs Kitty” a home.  Unfortunately, our efforts were derailed by the discovery that she has tapeworms, but at least we know what’s wrong and can start treatment.  Ironically, she took her medicine with much less drama than either of our other cats whom we’ve raised indoors since they were kittens.

As you might have guessed, these distractions have gotten in the way of my ‘play time’ for cooking and photography.  What can I say?  Sometimes you just have to roll with it.  Fortunately, this weekend is wide open for some much-needed downtime.  And, with the upcoming four-day Labor Day weekend, I see some serious play time in my near future! 🙂

Hope you’re hanging in there, too, and have a great weekend!

xoxo  ~b

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

