Motivational Monday

I started this otherwise gloomy Monday ready to kick butt. 

I don’t know whether it’s the fact that I had an agenda-free, relaxing weekend; the long-standing house projects that we keep getting done; the hilly 15-mile with marathon pace run that I conquered on Sunday (yes, this still counts as part of a relaxing weekend in my book); the fresh manicure; or something else altogether. 

But, I’m certainly not going to fight it!  No siree, not me. 

I’m going to embrace it with a smile. 

I am going to harness this energy to knock out every last project sitting on my desk so that I can enjoy my first work-free, four-day holiday weekend since law school.  It had become a long-standing joke that I always ended up laboring on Labor Day.  My good friends and former co-workers will remember that this holiday always seemed to coincide with long weekends of appellate briefing or trial preparation (and when I say long, I mean back-to-back 12 hours days).  For the life of me, I can’t explain why the timing was so horrendous, but it never failed.  By my third year, I didn’t even bother making plans!

If for no reason other than sheer tenacity, this year will be different.  We don’t have any big plans — no trips out of town, no family coming into town, no kids to tend to because school is out — but we shouldn’t have to.  It should not take non-refundable travel plans or childcare commitments to justify taking time off.  It should be enough that you simply want to do all the things at home that never seem to fit into a regular ol’ two-day weekend.  For me, that means extra sleep, a great bike ride (or two), a good run (or three), yummy home-cooked meals, some play-time with my camera, and time leftover to finish up more projects around the house.

I hope that you’re having a motivated Monday, too… and that I haven’t jinxed mine!  🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

