Ready for Racing Season

I’ve already confessed my complete obsession with Fall.  (And, while we’re on this subject, I’d like to say that it did not go un-noticed that no one responded to my plea for things to love about Summer.  I’m assuming that means y’all adore Fall just like me.  Glad to know I’m in good company here.)

One thing I neglected to mention in rattling off my list of Fall favorites is my love for racing season! Beginning in September, every weekend is brimming races.

It’s like back-to-school supplies for the athletic junkie.  And, oh how I love school supplies.  I was totally ‘that girl’ who needed just the right notebook for each class and insisted on making my own book covers.  But, I’m guessing that doesn’t surprise you one bit.  Hmm, I digress.  Back to racing!

Racing season offers something for everyone.  For fair-weather athletes, it provides the motivation to get back into shape.  For those who trained throughout the torturous Texas Summer, you get to see all your hard work pay off as the temperatures drop and your body is ready to perform.

In case you haven’t noticed, I tend to get a little excited about things.  Okay, I tend to get A LOT excited about things.  For me, the only problem with racing season is picking just one.

So, apparently, I don’t . . .

Check out this line-up.

September 17-18 :: PACC Cotton Patch Challenge sponsored by Brad’s cycling team. This year, instead of racing, we are volunteering our camera skillz and time.

September 24-26 :: The Greater Dallas Bicyclists weekend getaway to Lake Murray.  This is still a BIG maybe, but I’m hoping we can make it work.  Even if I don’t get in a ton of cycling, because it’s the weekend before my marathon, it’d be a great weekend with good friends.

October 2 :: St. George Marathon. ‘Nuff said.  Woohoo!!!!!!

November 7 :: DRC Half Marathon.  With great support, a fun course and stellar swag (because, really, it’s all about the swag), there’s a reason it is consistently rated the Best Half Marathon for the Texas region.

November 14 :: Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio Half Marathon.  We’re making this a full weekend getaway with friends.  And, the best part . . . wait for it . . . Brad is signed up to run!  I think even he isn’t exactly sure how this happened, but I’m super-excited!  We haven’t run a half marathon together since OKC in April 2009.

December 5 :: Run the Rock.  Will it be another full marathon?  Will I stick with the half and try to beat my PR on the same course back in March?  Only time will tell, but stay tuned!  Oh, and if you happen to know anyone looking to finish their first marathon (or to PR) in 4 hours, send them my way.  For me, that would be the most fun way to run this one.  I love being with runners when they tackle a distance or a pace for the first time.  Their energy is so raw, so genuine, and so ridiculously contagious!  You can’t help but get goosebumps!!

Is this too much?  I can’t help it.  I think too much of a good thing can be wonderful.

I once read “The things we do should consume us.  If they do not, our lives don’t have any meaning.”  While I think this is a somewhat extreme position, the sentiment is valid.  If you only give a half-hearted effort, then what’s the point?  Which isn’t to say that I plan on all-out competing in every event, mind you.  Many of these will be nothing more than a fun way to log some miles with friends.

So, with that in mind, I invite you to join me in reveling in racing season.

If you aren’t already, I would absolutely love for you to join me on any one of these great adventures.  I’ve posted links to each event so that you can check it out for yourself.

Or, tell me about other races that you think I should check out.  (Caveat to my tri friends: I’m still not ready to take the plunge, so you can keep all your crazy tris to yourself … for now.)

Let the games begin!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cycling, faves on fitness, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

