Homecoming

I’m baaaaaaaaack!

And, I have only one word to describe it :: Bittersweet.

We just spent six days in one of the most beautiful areas I’ve ever had the pleasure of visiting.  To say that St. George, Utah, is “God’s Country” is both ironic and an understatement.  Everywhere you turn, you are guaranteed to be awestruck . . . by something.  Things move slower — except for the participants in the St. George Marathon, of course.  And, if you find the right places, it feels like time is standing still.

Sure, I missed our kitties, our bed, our shower and, to some extent, even our routines.  But, the truth is that I would have been perfectly content staying there another six days.  If only it wasn’t for these pesky day jobs that we need to pay for our playtime.

On the bright side, I always return from vacation feeling rested and rejuvenated.  (Remember Eureka Springs?)  This one was no exception — despite the fact that it also happened to be my marathon weekend.  In fact, if anything, this weekend actually exceeded expectations!

I don’t know whether it’s the fact that I completed my second marathon, that I have a hiatus in my strict marathon training, the fact that I got tons of good sleep, that I finally unplugged, that I got to spend six whole days goofing off and unwinding with my best friend (a.k.a. my incredibly supportive husband), that we spent so much time enjoying nature, or some crazy combination of all these things, but, by the end of the trip, I had never felt more at peace.  I suddenly felt like “me” again.

I owe you a race report; a St. George recap complete with beautiful photos; a few restaurant reviews; some new recipes; and maybe even an updated website.  (Did I mention I’m feeling re-invigorated?!?)

All in good time . . . in other words, once I have re-stocked the fridge, caught up on laundry, answered six days worth of email, and straightened up around the house.

For now, I implore you to start planning your next vacation.  Plan early and plan often.

Oh, and as for the little race that I ran on Saturday, you know, the one I might have been obsessing about for weeks.  I ROCKED IT !!!  It was miserably hot, somewhat disorganized, excrutiatingly downhill, and a complete success.  I crossed the finish line, grinning from ear to ear, in 3 hours 33 minutes and 39 seconds.

Where will our next vacation be?  Boston, baby!!!!!!!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homecoming

  1. Meagan says:

    WhooHoo!!! Congratulations on the great race! Glad to hear that you loved St. George. It is one of my favorite places on Earth.

Leave a Reply

