Not-So Secret Weapon

The day before we left for St. George, Utah, I came home to an adorable little box with a note from my sweet hubby tucked on top of the drawer where I always drop my keys.

Inside the box, I found this…

with a note that said “Courage”.

(If you have an inquisitive mind, like me, you can read all about the dragonfly and its meaning in Japanese culture here.  Or, you can think I’m a nerd for looking it up.  I’m cool with that, too.)

Before I even stopped to put it on, I ran into the bedroom (where he was napping) squealing with delight.  At first, he said, he was drawn to it because I would be flying down the hills during my race.  Then, he said the symbol of courage was perfect because that’s what it takes to follow-through when it gets tough – and was certainly going to get tough.

I never run in jewelry.  Ever.  But, I wore it proudly for the entire marathon. (Yes, I broke the cardinal rule of not doing anything new on race day.  Wouldn’t you?)

Every time it bounced against my chest, it reminded me that my husband was my biggest fan; that he would be waiting for me on course – always supportive and beaming with pride; and that I had the courage to finish.  I’m convinced it was the secret weapon that helped me push through the pain and kick into high gear for the last three miles.

To this day, I am still wearing the snot out of it.  It’s probably not the most expensive piece of jewelry he’s ever given me, but it is almost the most meaningful.

So, Brad, just in case I’ve forgotten to say it … thank you.  That is all.  Because words cannot express my gratitude for your support, encouragement, wit, level-headedness, and steadfast loyalty.

Love, Beth

P.S.  Don’t be surprised if you start seeing this symbol pop up quit a bit around here.  I had my mind set on incorporating a bee into the logos I’ve been working on (yes, the pun was intended), but after my altercation with a not-so-nice bee on my ride a few weeks ago and my new-found appreciation for everything this charm represents, the dragonfly holds a special place in my heart.

P.P.S.  My race report is almost complete.  Check back tomorrow for the full story!

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in family, life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not-So Secret Weapon

  1. Brad says:

    Wow, Japanese culture? I didn’t know. I just thought it was just a marketing ploy to help nerdy guys get lucky while emptying their wallets! 🙂

    Do you believe any of that? If so, I’ve got a bridge you need to buy!

Leave a Reply

