Boston Bound

One more marathon mania post and then I’ll move on.  I promise!

While it seems that everyone around me is singularly focused on “America’s favorite pastime” these days (I hear that a Texas team is playing the Yankees in some sort of division conference), today also is a pretty important day in my world … the marathon world.

At 8:00 a.m. today, the Boston Athletic Association opened registration for the 115th running of the Boston Marathon.

At 8:10 a.m. today, I got this ::

I’ve registered for lots of races, but I can honestly say that I’ve never teared up when I received a confirmation email.  Until today.  This was BIG.  Huge.  Tremendous.  Stupendous.  Unimaginable.  Get the drift?

If you had told me two years, when I first started running, that I would run the 2011 Boston Marathon, I would not have believed you.  I would have said you were crazy.  I would have told you bet your money elsewhere.

For all these reasons – and many more – receiving this email actually made me cry.

Seeing this screen at 4:03 p.m. probably made thousands of other people cry ::

That’s right ladies and gentlemen.  For the first time in the history of the race, the Boston Marathon sold out in one single day.  Like I said, this is HUGE.  I have a feeling that we will soon see major changes in this race, whether it’s the qualifying standards, the registration procedures, the number of entrants, or some combination thereof.  Until then, my heart aches for everyone who was hoping to qualify in the Marine Corps Marathon, the New York City Marathon, and the many other great qualifying races between now and December.  You have worked hard.  You have put in the training.  You can still run a great race and potentially qualify for 2012.  Don’t you dare give up!

To my many running friends who registered this morning, I look forward to training with you this winter/spring.

To my family and friends who never stopped believing I could do this, thank you for being rational when I was not, for being patient when I was anything but, for listening to me talking about running non-stop, and for your unyielding love and support.

Now, my accomplishment in St. George on October 2nd seems real.  I really did it!!  And on April 18, 2011, I will really do it again!!

But, until then, it’s time for a proper celebration … I see a fabulous glass of wine in my future! 🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boston Bound

  1. Brad says:

    Here we go again… 🙂 The sangria was good last night!

    • Beth says:

      The good news is that I just want to run Boston for the experience, not for a PR time. Oh wait, you’ve probably heard that before… At least the sangria was good! 🙂

  2. AMVW says:

    Congratulations! What an incredible accomplishment. Does this mean we’ll be missing you in NOLA? FYE….http://abovethelaw.com/2010/10/when-your-firms-secretaries-could-be-cast-in-mad-men-your-firm-has-some-problems/#more-41095.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks! There’s no way I’m missing NOLA, so it looks like I’ll be taking some extended leave next April. (Unfortunately, I am missing Chicago next month, though.)

      That story is crazy, yet sadly not unbelievable. Some things will never change…

Leave a Reply

