Toenails & Fingertips

I have officially concluded that my hobbies are hazardous.

Take running, for example.  No one ever tells you that training for and running a marathon will cause you to lose toenails — until it happens to you, of course.  So, consider this your very own public service announcement :: Running 40+ miles a week causes repetitive micro-trauma to your toes which, in turn, causes your toenails to fall off.  And, if you’re really lucky, they’ll turn a lovely shade of black first.

In cooking, it’s all about knife skills.  I’ve taken tons of knife skill classes.  Heck, I’ve even been an assistant instructor in classes.  But, no matter how skilled you are, at some point, you will slice a finger.  Or, at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

I had a doozy of an afternoon yesterday.  I was sure that cooking dinner would calm things down and lead to a nice, relaxing evening.  Then, halfway through chopping a big pile of mushrooms (shiitake, in case you’re wondering), I decided to slice off the tip of my thumb and index finger.  Apparently, I should have taken a little breather to decompress before I started wielding a knife!  After yelling a few words that I won’t repeat here, I stood there for a second, told myself it was only a matter of time, and made a bee-line for the bathroom to clean up.  I finished cooking dinner (the pasta was already boiling, so I had to at least finish what I’d started), and spent the rest of the evening licking my wounds.

Here is where my hazardous hobbies diverge.  Because I know you’ve always wondered, there’s a big difference between losing a toenail and losing a fingertip :: You don’t use your toenails all that much, but you use the snot out of your fingertips.

I had no idea how much I used my fingertips until I couldn’t.  I’m right-handed, and we’re only talking about two teeny little tips.  Still, I feel like a gimp.  Have you ever tried typing, washing your hair, or even getting in and out of your car without your left index finger and thumb?  I don’t recommend it.  This is going to make for one very interesting day.

Lesson learned :: Don’t chop angry.  🙂

This PSA lovingly brought to you by your busy little b.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cooking, nonsense, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

