Pursuing Passions

This has been a pretty darn cool day that celebrates everything this blog is about.

I started my morning running the very last run with my early marathon training group.  I love being a coach for Run On!  My running friends are some of the best, most inspiring people I’ve ever met.  I learn so much from them and, with any luck, they learn some good stuff from me, too.  Being a certified running coach makes me feel like an ambassador of fitness.  I take a lot of pride in this.

Next, I cleaned up and boogied to Sysco Dallas for a cooking class with Cheryl Forberg, RD.  Cheryl’s resume is unbelievable.  She is a James-Beard award-winning chef.  She was part of the opening team for one of Wolfgang Puck’s first restaurants.  She was the private chef for Lucasfilm, Ltd.  Not content with her fancy chef life, she earned an RD and become a research dietitian at Cedars Sinai in LA where she combined her chef experience and scientific background to create new, healthy recipes.  Oh yeah, and she happens to be the Nutritionist for “The Biggest Loser” (one of my few TV guilty pleasures).  Spending two hours eating yummy healthy food and chatting with a room full of trained chefs and dietitians made my day.

We interrupt your regularly-scheduled programming to bring you the following announcement from Beth’s soapbox :: Nutrition is a huge part of the successes you see on The Biggest Loser.  Yet, Cheryl has never appeared on the show.  I love Bob and Jillian (have you seen her arms?!?), but NBC is doing a grave disservice to everyone inspired to change their lives after watching this show by not focusing more on the nutritional changes these people make behind the scenes.  Cheryl’s blog is an awesome, comprehensive resource on these missing pieces.  Check it out here.

Moving on . . .

Hanging out after the cooking demo, I got caught up in a camera discussion.  I ‘needed’ someone to snap a photo with Cheryl and me.  Most people were using camera phones, but since I had Lola with me, I figured this moment called for a ‘real’ camera.  I dialed in the settings with a few test shots, and handed my camera over to the event marketing photog.  She was shooting with a Nikon, and I shoot Canon, but, still, I figured she was the best person for this job.  When I handed her my camera, she started grinning from ear-to-ear, and we got a little side-tracked.  She also snapped a pretty cute photo.

I ended the day playing in the kitchen, cooking a delicious dinner with Brad, and enjoying a nice glass of red wine.

And, when I sat down to tell y’all about it, I realized that this is my 100th post about my Life on the Run.

In many ways, I’m still figuring out what I want this Life to be.  I advocate specialization.  I like the idea of being the best at what I do.  I believe in the old adage that a Jack of all trades is a master in none.  But, I also believe that you shouldn’t feel pigeon-holed, and you may have to try on a lot of hats until you find one that fits.  Today, I somehow got to wear all of the hats I adore, and, for that, I am filled with gratitude.

Thanks for following my journey.

Much love,
your busy little b

Cheryl Forberg, RD, is a James Beard award-winning chef, a New York Times bestselling author and the nutritionist for NBC’s “The Biggest Loser.”Cheryl received her culinary education at the California Culinary Academy (CCA) in San Francisco. After graduating from the CCA, she embarked on a European apprenticeship journey, which culminated in stints at top French restaurants from Champagne to Strasbourg. Upon return to the United States, Ms. Forberg was chosen for the opening team of Postrio, Wolfgang Puck’s first venture in northern California. 

Contact CherylHave a nutrition question? Visit Cheryl’s Facebook page and join the discussion: 

For media appearances, speaking opportunities and endorsement requests for Cheryl:

Cheryl is available for private consultation in the San Francisco Bay Area.

  • cheryl [dot] forberg [at] gmail [dot] com

Cheryl’s passionate interest in healthy cooking led to an exodus from restaurant kitchens and an entrée to some of the most prestigious households in America. During this period she held the coveted position of Private Chef for Lucasfilm, Ltd., in northern California. She went on to earn a degree in Nutrition and Clinical Dietetics and an RD (registered dietitian) credential from the University of California at Berkeley. As a former research dietitian at Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, she had the opportunity to integrate her scientific background into recipe creation for a variety of dietary protocols. This distinctive skill set enabled her to extend her culinary expertise beyond celebrated restaurant kitchens into the creation of inspired recipes that are also healthful. She has developed a clear and concise recipe format, easily understood by novice students.

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in faves on fitness, faves on food, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

