Kindness Challenge

My soapbox is out.  And I’m standing on it.  Consider yourself warned.

It’s not even December yet (well, not for another few hours at least), and already I am struck by how stressed Christmas marketing seems to be this year.  Before we had even honored Thanksgiving, I felt like I’d been inundated with reminders about how many shopping days were left until Christmas and allegedly helpful “tips” for how to deal with holiday stress.

Do people really think that being reminded that we’re supposed to be scrambling around pulling our hair out is going to make us feel better?  Even if you weren’t stressed, you would be after reading some of this stuff.  (Or maybe it’s just me.  Please tell me other people are getting similar spam.)

What if, instead of getting alarming emails entitled “Your deadline to place orders in time for Christmas is approaching!” or “Trying to figure how to cope with holiday stress?”, you received uplifting notes sharing the stories of hope, joy and random acts of kindness that this season is supposed to be all about.

Enter :: Kind Over Matter.

I’ve told you about them before, but I have it on good authority (a.k.a. the WordPress stats that tell me which links people clicked from my blog) that very few people actually checked out this website.  So go ahead, click on it now.  It should open in a new window, so I’ll still be here.

Although the site is now a veritable lovefest of inspirational crafts and homemade goodies, it began with the simple concept of a Card Drop — leaving kindness cards in random places for complete strangers to find.  Can you imagine sitting down at the coffee bar and being greeted by a card that reads “Great acts are made up of small deeds.”?  Or, coming back to your car in the grocery store parking lot to see a card on your windshield that reads “No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”?  Or entering your yard to find a note that reads “Your garden is lovely. Thank you for making the world more beautiful.”

Being on the receiving end of any one of these Card Drops would seriously make my day.

What’s more amazing is how much it can make your day to be on the giving end.  Which leads me to my challenge . . .

Instead of spending the month of December counting the number of days until Christmas, try counting the number of Card Drops you can do.  I’ll admit that doing one every day sounds daunting, so start with something that seems attainable.  Let’s say 12.  (Because it reminds me of the “Twelve Days of Christmas” song and ends up being about one every other day.)

To make the project super-easy (and basically eliminate any seemingly legitimate excuse not to give it a try), you can download tons of printable cards with cute photos and optimistic quotes directly from the Kind Over Matter website under “Freebies”.  (Yes, they’re even free.)  Simply, print, cut, and drop away.

If you feel like sharing your experiences, I’d love for you to leave them in the comments.  Even if you don’t comment, I do hope you’ll give it try.  Even if it’s only once.  You never know how much it could turn around someone’s day.  And, if they’ve been getting emails like me lately, I’m confident they could use a pick-me-up!

xxoo ~Beth

P.S. Kind Over Matter did not ask me to do this.  They have no idea who I am.  The only thing I am ‘getting’ for posing this challenge is the satisfaction that maybe one person will try it.

P.P.S.  I will return to running and training and cooking.  Soon.  Very, very soon.  🙂

 

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in crafts, life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kindness Challenge

  1. Chriseda says:

    Okay, I know that you an I spoke about this campaign briefly. I already have a plan and am excited about it. I am expecting it to take me into the new year. I used to write notes and leave cards for so many that I worked with daily (over a hundred real estate agents) but my efforts have fallen off greatly these past few, self-employed years. My partner, children and family have many hand made notes from me but I am thinking that anonymous notes to the world would be a productive and happy making project. Kind of sneaky – making someone smile by leaving a note. An unexpected spot of spontaneous sunshine. A random act of kindness. I like being random anyway. Maybe they pass the note along, maybe they pass the smile along, maybe they roll their eyes and just move on. Regardless (here is the selfish-selfless part), it will make ME smile to do it. And if I am smiling and inadvertently – spreading a smile and warmth and joy – maybe someone feels it. I know that I am grateful when others smile at me.
    So – I am up for the challenge. Will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

