Resolutions

Res-o-lu-tion (n) :: the act or process of resolving

Re-solve (v) :: to deal with successfully; to find an answer to; to make a firm decision about

Christmas had barely been over five minutes before I became inundated with talk of New Years’ resolutions.

Let me be clear — New Years’ Day is one of my favorite days of the year.  I love looking back on the year.  I love the idea of getting a fresh start.  A chance to assess life, set new goals, keep growing as a person, and become an even better version of myself.

All too often, though, New Years’ resolutions are so specific and so lofty that we set ourselves up for failure.  I don’t understand why we put so much pressure on ourselves with hard-and-fast goals and deadlines.  I will lose 20 pounds by X date.  (My yoga studio is about to be a jam-packed mess, but only for the next four weeks or so.)  I will quit smoking.  I will get out of debt.  Etc, etc.

Apparently recognizing the high failure rate of these resolutions, someone sent me a Resolution Contract.  The theory being that if you write them down, they might actually happen.  It even had a place for you to designate someone to be accountable for making sure you fulfilled the contract.

In this midst of this craziness, one of my cousins posed this question on Facebook :: What one word best describes how you would like to feel in 2011?

She was trying to decide between “content” and “connected.”  Both worthy causes, if you ask me.  Many others posted great thoughts as well, among them:

  • Complete
  • Gracious
  • Calm
  • Happy
  • Free
  • Satisfied
  • Confident
  • Patient
  • Well-rested (with the caveat “One can always hope” – cracked me up!)
  • Aware
  • Faithful

My answer came quickly :: Present

I am — slowly but surely — learning to accept the fact that despite my best efforts, things will not always go as planned.  Things will not always be ‘perfect’.  And, that’s okay.  In fact, some of my greatest memories from this past year are in the unplanned moments or even the moments where plans went awry.  What’s not okay is missing out on these moments because I am too busy fretting about my failed plan or thinking about what I should do or say next.

So, I have made a firm decision that no matter what life throws my way this year, I will be present.  I will deal with life successfully by being in the moment every step of the way. Whether through laughter or tears, good times or bad, success or perceived failure, I will be present for it.  I will learn from it.  I will allow each experience to become a part of the fabric of my life.

Of course, I do have some goals along the way … like this little thing called the Boston Marathon, another little thing called the Big Sur International Marathon, the hope of expanding my passion for writing about running into something more concrete, and a few other things.

But, above all else, whether I achieve these goals or not, I resolve to be present, in the moment, savoring every second.

Happy 2011, my friends!

xoxo  ~your busy little b

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

