There’s hope for you yet.

Some amazing things have happened around here in the last few days. Because I’m feeling listy, I thought I’d share them with you in a seemingly random, yet surprisingly chronological, order.

1.  I learned that I have been mis-punctuating sentences all of my life, or at least all of my adult typing life. It turns out that typing two spaces after a period is wrong. Not just in journalist writing, but ever. Period. I am desperately trying to change my ways, but I’m not at all convinced it is easier to read, as typographers claim. What do you think? (P.S. Thanks, but no thanks, to the friend who shared this article with me: Space Invaders.)

2.  I found my lactate threshold heart rate while running and without puking.

3.  By putting out the hard effort necessary to find my LTHR, I seem to have run away from my sickness. Maybe, now, I can finally stop operating on Dayquil.

4.  I got back in the kitchen. In the past 24 hours, I’ve made an enormous batch of chili, jalapeno cornbread, and banana bread. I don’t know what came over me, but I suspect our out-of-control dining budget (or lack thereof) appreciates it.

5.  I did all of this cooking before our cleaning peeps came. Perhaps you can teach an old dog new tricks.

6.  I had an ah-hah! moment in which I identified (a) what’s been ‘missing’ from my current work and (b) what I’d like to do long-term. Now, I just need to find the guts to start putting the wheels in motion.

7.  The sun came out to play today. It had been so long that I couldn’t even remember the last time I needed sunglasses.

8.  Brad and I got so excited about the aforementioned sun that we rushed home, donned our spandex, and made a bee-line to the lake on our fancy new tandem. (Of course, as soon as we got on the bike, the sun disappeared, the wind picked up, and the temperature dropped. But, we kept on smiling and pedaling.)

9.  I received the list of groupings for my advanced marathon training class, and I am not in the slowest group. I don’t know how this happened. Maybe it’s a mistake. Or, maybe that person who keeps telling me that I’m a stronger, faster runner than I think is right. I hate it when that happens.

Here’s hoping that the sun keeps shining, the wheels keep spinning, the kitchen keeps calling my name, and the miles keep coming easy.

xoxo ~Beth

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

