Friday Bits of Bliss

You thought I forgot, didn’t you?  Well, truth be told, I almost did.  The thing is that I’ve been doing a lot of living these days.  The start of a new year is always crazy at work and leads to a lot personal self-reflection for me.  This probably means that tons of new writing is on the horizon, but in the meantime, I’ve been lacking inspiration.  All the more reason to bring back my Friday Bits of Bliss!

So, now is the time to pause and to acknowledge and be thankful for the little things that made me smile this week . . .

*Four-day workweeks.
My office was closed on Monday for MLK Day.  I needed a mental health day, and I took it.

*Girls night to celebrate the birthday of my dear friend Meagan.
She is one of the most caring, honest, gracious, and genuine people I know.  She’s also a serious people-connector, and brought together an amazing group of women.  Most of us had never met, but you would have thought we’d be friends for ages.  I feel so blessed that a series of life events brought us together.  However unfortunate some of those events may have been for each of us, our friendship makes a great silver lining.

*Constructive evaluation meetings.
I usually don’t get nervous about performance evaluation meetings.  Being that this was my first year in a new firm and that my new group tends to be very blunt and outspoken, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Fortunately, it was mostly positive, but also included a real discussion about areas of improvement — that is, not a focus on complaints or things I’ve done “wrong” (and, being the new girl, I’ve sure there were plenty!), but things I could master over the next year that would really make me shine.  Everyone benefits from open communication and constructive criticism when it’s delivered correctly, and they nailed it.

*Raises and bonuses.
I received both, and didn’t think I was eligible for either until I worked a full year.

Hope you had a great week and have an even better weekend!

xoxo
~Beth

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in bits of bliss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

