Playing Catch-Up

I woke up this morning rarin’ to go. I wanted to run. I had a million-and-one things to do at work. And, I was going to come home to a clean house.

I also woke up to a city covered in a thick sheet of ice with a few inches of snow on top, a temperature of 20 degrees, and a wind chill of 9. This is not cool, ladies and gentlemen. It is downright cold. And, it isn’t supposed to get above freezing again until maybe Friday. Unlike last year’s Snow Day and Winter Wonderland, there is not much pretty about today’s weather. Slushy, dirty ice does not make for the picturesque play-day that you dream about as a kid — at least as a Texas kid who rarely gets to enjoy ‘snow days’ off from school.

Still, not to be deterred, Brad and I chipped our way of the driveway, went to work for a bit, stopped by the grocery store to stock up on pantry items and cat food, and are now  enjoying a relaxing afternoon at home.

I had no idea how much I needed this no-pressure day. Thanks to all the snowy quiet-time, I crossed all kinds of stuff off my perpetual list:

  • 3 long-standing work projects are done.
  • My email is all clean and tidy. My inbox is down from 596 to 23. My sent items are filed. My calendar is updated.
  • The fridge is fully stocked. We have at least a week’s worth of chili, pizza, salad, waffles and (soon) sausage balls at our fingertips. We might also have two enormous bags of toffee and ginger cookies that we picked up at Whole Foods. I’ll never tell.
  • I’m all caught up on my Google Reader and feeling very inspired. Who’d a thunk of serving chili straight out of a Fritos bag? Can you say peanut butter pecan biscotti and carrot cake muffins? Who doesn’t love looking at beautiful flower pictures? Have I mentioned how much I love Kristin Armstrong? Her latest post, “Leaving Ur,” nearly moved me tears. She has uncanny ability to pick topics that seem like they’re written just for me week after week.

On that note, I think it’s time for some real R&R. The sofa and fireplace are calling my name, as is a nice cup of hot chocolate and the overflowing DVR.

I hope that you, too, made the best of Snow Day 2011. Thankfully (or not), we don’t get them often.

~B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

