AMT :: Week 5

So, I almost didn’t even publish a post about Week 5 of my Advanced Marathon Training class. Guilty as charged.

I can sum up last week in one solitary word :: Weird.

As you may recall if you are following my training madness (P.S. Thanks and love you lots!), I ended Week 4 on a high. I was liking the increased mileage; I was making time to cross-train; and I was getting the hang of the whole nutrition thing. I even had a great Sunday long run to kick off Week 5 (more on that in a minute).

Then, in the wee hours of Tuesday morning, Icemaggedon 2011 hit Dallas, followed closely by Snowpocalypse 2011 on Friday morning. At first, I was surprisingly calm about the whole thing, but by Day 3 of the city shutdown, I was officially frustrated with Mother Nature. (As was Jerry Jones, I’m sure, but that’s a story for another day and probably another writer.)

Anyhow, because the whole point of this journal is to document my entire experience — including all the highs and the lows — and because the week was worth remembering, I bring you Week 5 . . .

Sunday (1/30) :: 14 miles in Zone 1. This run got off to a rocky start because the 60+ degree temperature and 99% humidity was a major shock to my body, which had gotten quite used to cold weather runs. Once I settled in, though, this turned out to be one awesome run! We ran one of my favorite routes through the Bluffview area. I got all goosebumpy and teary-eyed just hearing about the Boston Marathon experience; I am going to completely lose it when I get there myself. Consider yourself warned. I also had a good chat with a friend about the importance of cultivating healthy friendships with the opposite sex (i.e., the kind that are close and meaningful, but that your respective spouses are comfortable with). She probably doesn’t know what a profound impact this had on me, but it was an ‘ah-hah moment’ on levels that I can’t explain. Yet another reason I adore my running friends.

Monday (1/31) :: Rest day. And I enjoyed every minute of it. In hindsight, I should have trusted the weatherman, sucked it up, and gotten in my Tuesday run on Monday night. Instead, I made the most delicious batch of chili to date (with the assistance of my skilled sous chef and recipe-tester, of course) and optimistically set out my running clothes for Tuesday morning.

Tuesday (2/1) :: 10 miles with 4 in Zone 2. Didn’t happen. The storm came in just as predicted. When I awoke at 4:15 a.m. to ice pellets hitting the window, I knew the run would be canceled. Work was too, so I took full advantage of the extra sleep.

Wednesday (2/2) :: 8 miles easy. This run was happening. I didn’t care how, when or where, but I was running on Wednesday. I know it sounds crazy, but I felt foggy. I couldn’t clear my head and didn’t feel like myself. I needed to run. Brad also needed to run because his ankle is (almost) healed, and it’s time to pick up the mileage. And, so, our parking garage running plan was born.

Thursday (2/3) :: 10 miles with 5 in Zone 2. More parking garage running. And another memorable moment. Brad and I have shared many runs together. I always enjoy running with him, but in a different way than I enjoy my running group. Usually, our runs felt like ‘us time’ while my group runs felt like ‘me time’ with friends. (Again, not a bad thing, just different.) Today was different. Today, I felt like I was just me running with an old friend. We chatted nonstop about everything under the sun, and he pushed me to get in the final mile. I love that even after being cooped up inside together for so much of the week (though we both had to work a bit), we never get sick of each other. No matter what, he is my best friend.

Friday (2/4) :: Rest day or 5 miles in Zone 1. This was going to be the week that I added an extra day of running. Does playing in the snow count? No? Fine. Be that way. I did it anyway.

Saturday (2/5) :: 6 miles in Zone 1. It was still treacherous Saturday morning, and the heating blanket felt way too good to get out of bed. Once we finally got up, though, the day got much busier than intended, as always. Determined to stay close to schedule, Brad and I squeezed in a 4-ish mile run before meeting friends for dinner. If today’s HR is any indication of Sunday, I’m in a for a great run.

At the end of this weird week, I had the strangest pile of laundry EVER. Shorts and a tank top from Sunday, combined with every pair of tights, thermal shirts, gloves, and ear warmers I own.

Here’s to hoping that the weatherman gets it wrong this week, and we aren’t pummeled with more ice and snow tomorrow!

~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

