Rethinking Resolutions :: The Pursuit of Presence

What a doozy! Returning to work after four days of being semi-closed due to ice and snow is just not cool.

Before the weather debacle, I was finally feeling like I was on a roll. Then, Wham! Four blissfully short days of work followed by lots of hours of down-time and play-time at home. It sure didn’t take long to get used to that!

By Monday, I felt like I was starting the new year all over again. Time to catch up on email and prioritize my to-do lists, all while balancing everyone else’s need to the same, which inevitably results in more work on my desk. I received over 35 emails before 8:15 a.m. Not cool.

I was feeling very ‘woah is me’ about it all yesterday. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m also hormonal, so I’ve tried to avoid making any snap judgments or rash decisions over the past few days.

Then, while reading a magazine, I came across the following advice on work-life balance:

Before you leave the office at the end of each day, take a few minutes to clear your inbox, make a list of action items for the next day, and turn your Blackberry off for the evening.

I tried it yesterday. It felt great.

By clearing my inbox and completing my time records (the bane of every big firm lawyer’s existence), I had a sense of accomplishment. By making a to-do list before I left, I could clear my mind of those looming tasks, knowing that I didn’t need to remember them because they would be here waiting for me. By turning off my Blackberry, I was able to enjoy just being for the evening. (Admittedly, I did log in and check email once before I went to bed. Still, this is a huge improvement. I don’t know at what point I become incapable of not checking my Blackberry and iPhone every 5 minutes, but it needs to stop. Yesterday.)

So, hold your breath and mark this moment in history . . . I may have to eat my own words about making resolutions.

In the spirit of optimism, I will attempt to view this week as a new beginning, instead of a beating. I will use this new beginning to start a new routine at the end of each work day :: I resolve to enter my time, clear my inbox, update my to-do list, turn off my Blackberry, and check my work email (at most) only once the rest of the evening.

I like to think of it as a stepping-stone to my pursuit of being present in all the moments of each and every day.

Did you make a resolution? How is it going? Do you need to revisit it? Have your priorities shifted? I’d love to hear you’re doing!  🙂

xoxo ~Beth

P.S.  The above-referenced quote came from Redbook magazine. I had never purchased or even read Redbook until this week. But-for their interview with Giada De Laurentiis, this would still be true. Halfway through the mag, I realized two things: (1) I was still reading it; and (2) All the articles were quite good. This did not settle well with me because, to be honest, I’ve always thought of Redbook as a ‘grown up’ woman’s magazine. I found this so unsettling that I was compelled to research their target demographic :: Successful, married women dealing with modern hardships, aspiring for intellectual growth, and encouraging other women. So, that settles it. I am, in fact, a grown up. When did that happen?!?

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rethinking Resolutions :: The Pursuit of Presence

  1. AMVW says:

    Totally unrelated, but thought you might enjoy this blog: http://theliberiangirl.wordpress.com/. The author is one my best friends from law school who recently left her job at DC big law to pursue a dream of travel, teaching and legal development in West Africa.

    My resolution is a continued one, and one that many of us share: to not spread myself so thin as to lose myself.
    -9 degrees in Detroit this morning:)

    • Beth says:

      I love going off-topic… Your friend sounds fascinating; what an adventure! Thanks for sharing her blog.

      Your resolution is an excellent one that I suspect we will continue battling as long as we try to be Superwomen. 🙂

      It’s 25 here, the overnight low is 9, there is snow on the ground, and I have the flu (or something like it). Dallasites simply are not equipped for this madness. Bad news all around. Stay warm and take care of yourself!!

Leave a Reply

