Is this the sexy part?

Talking to baby lawyers and law students always makes me chuckle. They have grand ideas about what it means to be an associate at a big national law firm. They get all wide-eyed with the thought of traveling to take depositions, attend hearings, and work out of other offices. I don’t blame them. I thought it sounded great, too … Jet-setting to fun cities, eating dinner at nice restaurants, getting to experience so many new places – all on some else’s dime.

Unfortunately, when it comes to business travel reality bites.

Here’s what business travel really looks like ::

  • Rushing around the night before to pack a suitcase containing all the business suits, street clothes, and workout clothes necessary to survive for a week away from home.
  • Packing another suitcase containing your laptop and half of your office.
  • Undoing your massage therapist’s fine work by lugging all this crap around a crowded airport.
  • Arguing with flight attendants who want to check all your personal belongings at the gate (including Lovely Lola) because somehow, on a flight that isn’t even half full, all of the overhead bins are already full. (Sidenote: Wiggling your way on to a plane and stuffing your belongings under empty seats, while effective, will not make you friends.)
  • Rushing straight to the office upon your arrival … not checking in to your hotel until after 8:00 p.m. … and still have 3+ hours of work ahead of you.
  • Being in a fabulous city like Chicago surrounded by amazing restaurants, but dining at the same 3 restaurants because they are either (1) located in your hotel or (2) located in your office.
  • Getting giddy over the hotel’s specialty pancake menu and realizing the person with whom you’d like to share this bit of bliss is 1,000 miles away.
  • Being too exhausted to get up for your morning run, which further bludgeons your sanity.
  • Ending the day completely whipped and realizing you have to do it again tomorrow. And the next day.

Please accept this as my PSA for the week :: Business travel is not sexy. The only things you will get to explore are your hotel room, the four walls of your office, and, if you’re lucky, the hotel fitness center.

And, with that off my chest, I am now going to take a deep breath and channel all the spunk I had when I first landed :: I love this City. I have incredibly fond memories of two great vacations and fantastic runs here (the Chicago Half and the Chicago Marathon, both in 2009). My hotel overlooks the River and is just a few blocks from Millenium Park. Thursday’s specialty pancake is Ginger-Pear. And, with any luck, my deponent will no-show tomorrow so that Lola and I can explore the City.

*thinking happy thoughts*

~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is this the sexy part?

  1. Meagan says:

    So true, about all I saw in many trips to NYC was the inside of the GM building and the hotel!

  2. Hillary says:

    I don’t know. Chicago and a hotel overlooking the River is much sexier than my view of the parking lot from a Holiday Inn in Beaumont…

    • Beth says:

      Okay, you win. I let myself get way too frustrated about the 15+ hour work days and not getting to enjoy any of my favorite restaurants or running spots. It definitely could have been worse, though!

Leave a Reply

