AMT :: Week 9

It seems that I owe you an apology because it’s been a few weeks since I brought you an update on my Advanced Marathon Training class. Rest assured that I am still gearing up to tackle the Boston and Big Sur Marathons in April — just not always as diligently as I might like because, well, sometimes life just gets in the way.

This week was filled with ups and downs, though not necessarily in that order.

Sunday (2/27) :: 22 miles. This run had all the makings of greatness. I was in Austin. I was running with Brad. I was running on Town Lake trail instead of the concrete jungle. Alas, when I walked out the door in my scantily-clad running clothes and wasn’t the slightest bit cold, I knew I was in trouble. We both struggled miserably on this run. So much so, that by the end, we realized this one needed to be finished solo – for both our sakes! I got in the time on my feet that I normally would spend on a 22-miler, but I’m so not going to tell you how many miles I actually ran. 🙂 [In case there is any doubt, our trip to Austin was still awesome.]

Tuesday (3/1) :: 9 miles w/4 in Zone 3. Finally, a great Zone 3 run!! If Sunday was the price I had to pay for this run, I’d do it again in a heartbeat. This was the first Zone 3 run where I really felt great. In theory, HR Zone 3 is marathon pace, and after this run, I sure hope that’s true. I knocked out each mile at about a 7:45 min/mile pace, which is serious PR territory!

Wednesday (3/2) :: 7 miles. I had a crummy workday on Tuesday and didn’t sleep well, so my Wednesday morning hill run didn’t happen. Instead, I decided I needed to shake things up with an easy social run. Running at the lake with lots of new people was exactly what I needed. Of course, we couldn’t control ourselves so the run was a little faster than we intended. But the company was so great that no one seemed to mind. I only ran about 4.5 miles, but the extra speed makes up for that, right? (Wrong, I know. But the idea made me feel better.)

Thursday (3/3) :: 10 miles w/4 in Zone 3. This run wasn’t as a great as Tuesday, but it was still a solid run. My pace was about 20 sec slower at the same HR as Tuesday. Looking back, I attribute this, in part, to the fact that it was at least 10 degrees warmer. I am seriously a cold-weather runner. Let’s hope the weather gods shine down on me in Boston!

Saturday (3/5) :: 7 miles. Sick. Again. I’m beginning to feel like someone is ganging up on me because I rarely get sick, and this marks the third week this season that I’ve missed at least one run due to illness. I woke up Saturday morning feeling nauseous, clammy and downright crummy. I spent most of the day glued to the sofa, trying to keep down food, and hoping I felt well enough on Sunday for my long run. [I’ll give you a spoiler here: I did. Yay!]

All in all, I’m pleased with the week and looking forward to the next few weeks as we start sharpening with more hills and speedwork. Time to see what these legs can really do!!

~Beth

P.S. On a totally non-running-related note, I am pleased to report that my embracing of technology continues as I type this post using the WiFi in the airport (though still on my iPhone because I was too lazy to get out my laptop). The only downside is that now I’m majorly jonesing for a new iPad so that I can actually see what I’m doing, and read e-books when I’m done here. Stay tuned…..

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

