Second Chances

Another Monday and another week on the road for me.

It’s no secret that I didn’t cope well with my last business trip. Remember kids :: Travel is not the sexy part of being a lawyer! To put this in perspective, I was so miserable that by day two, Brad had packed a bag and was about to book a flight to Chi-town … until the flight sold out from under him, which meant he was going to have to purchase a more expensive ticket on a later flight, which exceeded both our ‘purchase without consultation’ threshold and common sense, particularly given that he had the flu and I was returning the next day. (Still, amazingly sweet gesture, though!)

This week, I’m in Atlanta. The trip is even longer. I had to leave on Sunday, instead of Tuesday morning, so I am missing all my weekday group runs. And, I have even more going on with my other cases lingering at the office.

Still, I am determined. This time will be different.

Nevermind the fact that my trip got off to a ridiculously bad start. My flight was delayed by 15-minute increments for two and half hours after its original departure time, until they finally canceled it and began searching for another aircraft with brakes that worked. (A nice feature in a plane, if you ask me.) I had to shove my carry on bag in an overhead bin 10 rows behind me because everyone before me refused to put bags under the seat in front of them. I arrived at my hotel at 12:30 a.m. and had to be up at 5:30 a.m.

Still, I am determined, not deterred. This time will be different.

1. My hotel pillows rock, and my bathroom is filled with yummy Bliss products.

2. I have my running routes all mapped out. I’m just a few blocks from a park, and I brought all my cold weather gear. Even if it rains, as predicted, I am ready.

3. I am armed with healthy snacks.

4. I’m getting the hang of these depositions, and actually had to time to prepare in advance.

5. I don’t have any depositions, meetings or deadlines on Tuesday.

6. I might have purchased enough dark chocolate amaretto truffles at the airport to last me all week. (While seemingly inconsistent with #3, I have not – and never will – give up dark chocolate. It is full of antioxidants, and just a teeny bite satisfies my sweet tooth.)

7. A dear friend loaned me her copy of Eat, Pray, Love before I left. How had I not read this book? Why can I not put it down?

On that note, I’m headed to my comfy bed with my book and a cup of hot tea.

I hope that you make the best of your week — no matter what it brings.

xxoo
~B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Second Chances

  1. Hillary says:

    You are preaching to the choir sister! I spent the last two weeks in Atlanta for work and had a sick dog at home. Too bad our trips didn’t coincide. The best thing is coming home and you’ll totally appreciate your boring routine. Have a safe flight back!

    • Beth says:

      It would have been great if our trips coincided. Maybe next time. Oh, how I’m looking forward to my boring old routine! Absence makes the heart grow fonder, right?

      (P.S. I hope your dog is doing better!)

      • Hillary says:

        Weeble is much better and regulated again! Thanks for asking. When you get back into town, we need to meet for lunch. I’ll just be right across the street from you at 1700 Pacific!

  2. Brad says:

    Since you’ve been gone, I’ve cleaned the litter boxes, done the dishes, changed a light bulb, fed the cats and hired someone to do the driveway… Hopefully you’ll come home to a place better than you left it. 🙂

  3. AMVW says:

    If you have time, check out the Decatur Market….It’s amazing. http://www.dekalbfarmersmarket.com/

Leave a Reply

