AMT :: Week 10

Last week was one of those great weeks of running. I can’t explain it, but somehow, despite all my crazy traveling, things finally came together.

Sunday (3/6) :: 18 miles w/8 at MP. Given that I spent most of Saturday feeling crummy, I was happy just to start and (more importantly) finish all 18 miles of this run. I ran the 8 miles at MP alongside a good friend at her MP, which is slightly slower than mine but exactly what I needed. I’m confident I wouldn’t have made it without her company and great conversation. Sometimes I like using my runs to quietly hash things out in my head; other times, like today, it really helps to have someone else to listen. Thanks, Mrs. D.  🙂

Sunday afternoon, I headed to the airport for another week of business travel. This time, I was armed with all the running gear one could possibly need in 4 days and on a mission not to let this derail my training . . .

Monday (3/7) :: Rest. I got a mere 4 hours of sleep thanks to my airport debacle, so I was very happy to have this be an official rest day.

Tuesday (3/8) :: 10 miles w/5 hill repeats. Initially, I wasn’t sure how I was going to accomplish this run. At home, I would have met my group for what I’m told is a pretty intense hill loop. I made a deal with myself that even if I just ran 10 flat miles, with 5 miles in Zone 3-4, that would be a fair replacement. As it turns out, finding hills in Atlanta is not a problem. There was a great, hilly park just a few blocks from my hotel, and the weather was absolutely perfect. I enjoyed this run so much that I might have added a few extra miles at the end. (Hopefully, my coach isn’t reading this!)

Wednesday (3/9) :: 8 miles. Unfortunately, the perfect weather ran out on Tuesday, because Wednesday it was pouring rain and freezing cold, which meant I had a date with a treadmill that afternoon. I don’t know whether it was the time of day (I am definitely a morning runner!) or the locale (have I mentioned that I loathe treadmills?), but this run was horrible. I made it 5 painful miles, and aborted the treadmill in favor of a stationary bike and a yoga mat. Better luck tomorrow.

Thursday (3/10) :: 9 miles — 3 mile warm-up / 6min x 4 in Zone 4 (a.k.a. Zone Ouch!) / 2 mile cool-down. Completing this run on a treadmill is, quite possibly, one of my most proudest training moments EVER. I had to get up at 3:30 a.m. to make this happen, but I was on a mission! I hate to admit it, but speedwork is much easier on a treadmill than it is on the road.

I was so happy to be home Thursday evening that I joined Brad for his 9-mile run at the lake. Boy, it felt great to run on solid ground again. It also felt great to run such high mileage this week. (Sorry, coach. I’ll really stick to the schedule this week; I promise!)

Friday (3/11) :: Optional rest day. Given my impromptu 2-a-day workout on Thursday, I took the option of resting today. I spent the morning in the bike shop getting a proper bike fit, so I did get in about 30 minutes of spin time, but it was hardly what I would consider a ‘workout’.

Saturday (3/12) :: 7 miles. In lieu of running, Brad and I took the tandem out for a 40-mile ride. The wind was brutal, as was our pace off the front. Is it bad that we had great fun hurting the group? I’m sure I’ll pay for it later, but it was a blast. Once marathon mania is behind us, I can’t wait to see what we can really do on the bike!

This coming week, we have our most intense and highest mileage week of training. Bring it!

~Beth

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

