Working for the Weekend

As a recovering workaholic, I am continuing to learn things about life and about myself. This week’s revelation :: Mondays are a whole heck of a lot harder when you actually get to enjoy life on the weekends.  (Now that I think about it, I suspect I’ve had this revelation before, but it really hit me hard this week.)

For more years than I’d like to admit, I spent my weekends doing pretty much the same thing I did all week.  Sure, I might have gotten a few extra hours of sleep, changed scenery, and worn comfier clothes, but most Saturdays and virtually every Sunday weren’t much different than any other day . . . research, write the brief that I never got to during the week, get ready for a Monday filing deadline, review documents, catch up on email, etc.

These days, my weekends look much different.  For all intents and purposes, this past weekend started on Thursday night with a dinner to remember at Lucia with my three favoritest people — my two best girlfriends + my husband, of course.  Whether it was the decadent food, the heavy-flowing wine, or the great conversation, I was pretty much worthless on Friday, which ended with me falling asleep while trying to catch up on the day’s Tour de France.  Saturday brought pedicures with the girls, a trip to the horse races, a nap that was probably too long to qualify as a “nap,” and an impromptu dinner at home.  Sunday started with a training ride on the tandem and ended with an enchilada party hosted by my girlfriends before one had to return to London. (Boo!) In the midst of all this, I’m not sure that I even checked my work email once.

Some people might read this and think it would be a relief to return to work after such a hectic weekend, but not me! I view it as a huge success.

When I started down a different career path last year — a path that took me away from my first and only law firm, a challenging and exciting legal practice, and many talented people whom I had called my extended family for nearly six years — I hoped I would make the most of my new-found time. Although my quest for striking the right balance continues (doesn’t it always?), I think I might be on to something. I finally understand what people mean when they say they’re working for the weekend!

x0x0
~your busy little b

P.S. In case you’re wondering, I killed my poor thyme plant many months ago, but we have two thriving basil plants in our new backyard.  🙂

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in life, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

