Bits of Bliss

Friday is finally here! As this terribly long week finally comes to an end, I thought I would bring back an old tradition and share with you a list of little things that helped get me through the week…

1.  Giada’s Wheat Berries with Strawberries and Goat cheese.

I discovered this recipe a couple of weeks ago, and have already made it three times. Wheat berries are too high maintenance for me — they require soaking and long cooking time — so I used Italian farro instead. I also changed the dressing a bit. Come to think of it, I should share my revamped recipe with you the next time I make it. Stay tuned!

2.  Committed, by Elizabeth Gilbert

I adored Eat, Pray, Love so much that Elizabeth Gilbert’s next book, Committed, was the first thing I downloaded for my fancy new Kindle. (Yes, I’m behind in the reading department. Bear with me here, people.) This time, Gilbert is searching for what real love in the real world actually means. Reading her struggle with accepting the institution of marriage is both highly entertaining and insightful. And I’m completely obsessed with the chapter on the history of marriage. I’ve already read it twice.

3. Mile Markers, by Kristin Armstrong

My admiration for Kristin Armstrong and her Runners’ World blog is no secret, but this week was particularly touching. To my girlfriends, especially those with daughters :: Grab a box of tissues, and click this link. Read Chucking Awesome first and then read Because We Can. You can thank me later.

4. My Official Boston Marathon completion certificate

I’ve already spilled my guts about my lack of motivation to train this summer. Receiving my certificate from the B.A.A. was the perfect reminder that not long ago, I was at the peak of my fitness. As God is my witness, I will get it back again.

5. Dreams of Fall

Spring has a special place in my heart, but I absolutely love Fall. And this year, it can’t get here fast enough. Today, we entered our 27th consecutive day of temperatures over 100 degrees. In my dreams, I am enjoying crisp runs, I am dining alfresco with warm soup, I am wearing tall boots with cute skirts, and I am surrounded by beautiful shades of deep red, burnt orange, and chocolate brown. Bring it!

I hope you found some bits of bliss this week, too.

xoxo ~b

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in bits of bliss, nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

