On this day

The month of October has always held a special place in my heart. The time of fall foliage, cool crisp mornings, warm soups and stews, and pumpkin-flavored everything is almost here. I’m not a huge Halloween person, but my favorite holidays (Thanksgiving followed closely by Christmas) are right around the corner.

October – the first weekend, specifically – also holds a special place in my running life.

Three years ago . . . I laced up my shoes to run my first 5k.

I had been running shuffling for about two weeks, and I wanted to try actually running a 5k – as opposed to walking it like I’d done three weeks earlier. The Vineyard Run promised wine at the finish line, so it sounded perfect! I had no idea where I was supposed to put my race number. I had no clue what the timing chip was, much less how it worked. I was crazy nervous. Brad was ready to go for a bike ride, but turned around joined me for the run (bike clothes and all!). I walked within the first mile, wondering how the heck anyone could possibly run an entire 5k. And about 35 minutes later, I crossed the finish line.

Two years ago . . . I experienced my first bout of taper tantrums leading up to my first Marathon.

To say that I was freaking out is an understatement. What should I wear? What should my race plan be? When should I drink? How many gels do I need? How should I pace myself? Oh crap, what if I don’t even finish? The list goes on and on.

Ultimately, I settled on three goals: My “C” goal was to finish. My “B” goal was to finish in 4 hours. My “A” goal was to finish in 3 hours and 50 minutes. I crossed the finish line in 3:41:44.

I was all smiles. For days.

To say that I was hooked is an understatement.

(I’m the slightly excited one with her hands in the air under the time clock.)

One year ago . . . I qualified for the Boston Marathon.

I didn’t “just BQ”. I set a new PR of 3:33:39 – nearly ten minutes faster – in my second marathon. I don’t like to brag, but I’m told that this is a pretty big deal and that I’m too modest about it. So there.

You can read more about my run in St. George here.

 

Today . . . I re-ran my first 5k.

When I got an email about this year’s Vineyard Run, I realized that the running stars had a funny way of aligning in October. Given that I’d been yearning for some good inspiration, I signed up (a.k.a. I signed myself and Brad up) to return to the scene of the crime. 🙂

I didn’t run to race. I ran to remember.

I remembered each spot where I stopped to walk. Each spot where I wondered how I could ever run faster. Each spot where I wondered how I was going to run 8 miles at next month’s Turkey Trot. Each spot where I wondered how I had let myself lead such a sedentary life that I couldn’t run/jog 3.1 miles. Each spot where I swore to myself that I’d never live that way again.

It was an awesome experience. One that I plan on repeating every first weekend in October for as long as I live.

Do you celebrate your running anniversary? If you don’t, you should.

xoxo
~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On this day

  1. Meagan says:

    Love this post Beth! I couldn’t remember the exact day that I shuffled my first 5K. I remember the moment though because it was one of the most empowering experiences of my life. So I went back and looked it up in my journal. Turns out it was May 2, 2010. Before that day I had NEVER even run a single mile without stopping to walk. Kind of fitting I guess that on April 29, 2012 I will do my first marathon. Thank you for encouraging me on all my triathlon and running endevours. And thank you for cajoling me into signing up for Big Sur! Love, Meagan

  2. Beth says:

    I love the timing! What a perfect way to celebrate and in one of the most beautiful places on Earth. 🙂

  3. Lindsay says:

    I don’t care if we are the only people who read this blog… I love it 😉

    • Beth says:

      Hah! I have sneaky suspicion that there are more readers than there are commenters. But even if you were the only ones, I’d still keep writing it just for you!!

Leave a Reply

