For Sanity’s Sake

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about why I run. As is often the creepy case, right around the time I was stewing on this, I also started reading a lot about why people run…

In honor of their first-ever Readers Issue, Runner’s World put together an awesome “Why I Run” video. It’s pretty inspiring stuff!

If you follow #whyirun on Twitter, you’ll see boatloads of people gushing about why they run — from poignant to scary to (literally) laugh-out-loud funny.

I’ve written about my Reason to Run before. For the first two and a half years of my running life, I ran in good company for a specific goal race. So, it makes sense that the fellowship, the goal, and the sense of accomplishment became my reasons to run. But over time, those reasons change.

In May, I needed to take a break. For a lot of reasons … we were moving, I was injured after Boston 2 Big Sur, and I had been in marathon training mode for nearly. Once we settled in to our new house, I had fully healed, and my mind was clear, I had a lot of trouble returning to running. I tried registering for goal races, thinking “Surely, a goal will snap me back into routine.” Still, nothing.

Then, life got crazy. Work got busier than I’d like. The lack of free time put a squeeze on my personal life, which makes me cranky. I kept getting crummy news about our sweet, spoiled Savannah. (Case in point: I started this post 19 days ago.) And, suddenly, I needed to run.

Once again, I was getting up in the wee morning hours to pound the pavement. Not because I had a goal race. Not because a group of marathon trainees was counting on me.

Because the time I spend running is the only part of my day that makes sense.

Because I feel like myself again.

Because I can and that’s something I should be thankful for.

An added bonus? Running without worry about whether I’m on goal pace or running my required distance has made me love running again.

What’s your current reason to run?

xoxo
~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Sanity’s Sake

  1. For me, running is definitely a time to clear my head and relieve stress. I also love the camaraderie of running with friends and racing. But sometimes, there’s nothing like just getting out there solo and being immersed in nature.

Leave a Reply

