Going Streaking

The holidays and overindulgence go together like peas and carrots.

To make matters worse, most runners spend the holiday season in between training cycles. Without that need to get in mileage, it’s easy to forego a morning run for extra sleep, which you probably need to recover from the party you enjoyed the night before.

Recognizing these pitfalls, Runner’s World announced their Inaugural RW Holiday Running Streak. The premise :: Run at least 1 mile every day between Thanksgiving and New Years Day. You can keep up with the RW editors and other streaking news on the RW Training Daily blog, you can follow others who are taking the challenge on Twitter at #RWRunStreak, or you can just keep yourself honest.

I was immediately drawn to the simplicity of the project. It’s pretty hard to come up with an excuse not to get in a 10-minute run. Of course, the hope is that by getting out the door, I will end up running more. But even if I don’t, at least I kept moving.

For me, this project also presents the perfect opportunity for me to get back on my blogging bandwagon. It’s no secret that I’ve neglected this space in recent months. Too often, I rationalize that if I don’t have time to write a novella, then I just won’t write at all. …. Funny, I do that with my runs, too. For the next 39 days, no more.

I’m officially taking the challenge, and you’re all invited to hold me accountable as I blog about it each and every day!

Some days, I may only run 1 mile and write only 1 pithy sentence. Other days, I’ll run long and be inspired to write volumes. But no matter what, I will keep moving both my feet and fingers.

Who’s in?

~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running, RWRunStreak. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Streaking

  1. Ann E says:

    I’m in! I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

