Even-Steven {RunStreak: Day 6}

I keep reading all these optimistic stories of fellow RW Streakers who are finding new joy in just running. The RW Run Streak has inspired them to run without a goal, without a watch, without a care as to how long or how far . . . to just run. Case in point: RW editor Mark Remy’s poignant tale of the distinction between a Run and a run.

I am not one of those people. Maybe I will be someday. But that day is not today.

Yesterday afternoon, Brad and I set out for a trail run. The “plan” was to run, walk, meander, and otherwise enjoy the trail until it got dark, probably 30-45 minutes. After about 20 minutes, the light was already getting sketchy, so we darted onto a nearby road and kept going. (With my half marathon this weekend, the last thing I need is to twist an ankle!)

When we got back to the house, my watch said 2.85 which I concluded was downright obnoxious. Brad, of course, was totally satisfied with the run and waved me along as I kept running so that I could get my even 3.0 miles.

Perhaps the fundamental flaw here is that I wore my watch in the first place, but here’s the deal: I am a firm believer in running by heart rate, so I like having the data on-hand. (Yes, by now, I should have a good sense of my heart rate without the instant data. But who’s side are you on, anyway?) I also feel the ‘need’ to have an official record of my streak. (The lawyer in me demands tangible proof of everything. It’s a terrible side effect of my career.) So there are my pitiful excuses for not running truly naked.  🙂

Maybe – just maybe – before the streak is over, I will experience one of those ah-hah runs where pace, heart rate, distance, and time are of no moment. But for now, I will simply embrace each even mile run. One day at a time.

~your Type-A runner & busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running, RWRunStreak. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Even-Steven {RunStreak: Day 6}

  1. If it makes you feel any better I’ve misplaced my Garmin 405 charger somewhere so I have been running by feel for over a week now! Maybe I should be doing this RunStreak thing too! If I can’t find it I will have to go buy a charger before the race this weekend! Oy.

Leave a Reply

