Dreadmills {RunStreak: Days 8-9}

What is it about treadmills that makes me want to rip my eyes out?!?!

I know plenty of people who enjoy a good treadmill run — and even prefer it for speedwork. Me? Not so much.

In fact, I dread the treadmill so much that I usually map out road routes when I travel so that I have a treadmill-avoidance plan. But that didn’t happen this week. I was staying in a hotel at the airport, so there wasn’t a safe place to run on the road. Because I didn’t need to get in any super-long runs, I figured I would just suck it up in the hotel fitness center.

Thursday afternoon, I pounded out 3.7 miles. (I told you that I would need to even the score from my 3.3-mile run, didn’t I?) It was the longest 3.7-mile run ever! Sure, it was rewarding to finish, knowing that I could (kind of) conquer my fear. But it was also frustrating to watch each tenth of a mile go by at what seemed like a snail’s pace. I even tried plugging in to the TV, but I still couldn’t wait to finish.

Normally, I would have taken a rest day on Friday, especially with the White Rock half marathon coming up, but I am seriously dedicated to my streak! So I got up Friday morning and spent 1 mile on the treadmill. Trying to keep things positive, I focused on how much  I enjoyed running in the morning, instead of the evening like I had done the rest of the week.

Any have tips on how to make the treadmill my friend? Help a girl out here!!

~your busy little B

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running, RWRunStreak. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreadmills {RunStreak: Days 8-9}

  1. Anonymous says:

    Catching up on my blog reading….

    Yes. Plug in a preset program (most treadmills have them) for the time or distance you want to cover. Then put a towel over the display so you don’t know how far you’ve gone. Plug in to a TV show you really like, or crank the MP3 player with all of your favorite running songs. Then… NO CHEATING.

    Once you get over looking at the display, you will actually learn to focus on other things, and the run will go by much faster.

    Sort of like being on a trainer. Only without the wheels.

Leave a Reply

