Shake-Out Run {RunStreak: Day 10}

Ask any group of marathon runners what they do the day before a big race, and you’re sure to get a broad spectrum of answers. Some refuse to run (opting, instead, for an easy bike ride or walk) for fear that they will be psyched out by a bad run. Some do nothing at all for fear that spending time on their feet will wreak havoc on their race. Some do a short run for fear that not running or doing nothing will make them go crazy.

I am a firm believer in the shake-out run. I like to run just 2-3 easy miles the day before any big race. Sometimes, if I’m traveling for a race, I’ll do a short ride on a stationary recumbent bike instead, but it just isn’t the same. Typically, I taper for a big race, which means that, by the day before, I haven’t run in two or three days so it feels really good to lace up my sneakers. It helps me burn off my pre-race jitters. And it builds confidence to know that my body hasn’t forgotten how to do it!  🙂

My shake-out run for the White Rock half marathon had a different purpose … rain training. One consequence of the run-when-you-feel-like-it plan I’ve been following for the past few months is that I haven’t run in the rain in a really long time. But the weather forecast for Sunday’s race is around 40-45 degrees with an 80-90% chance of rain.

To brace myself for the bitter cold I was sure to endure, I waited until the heaviest rain of the day and set out for a 2-mile run in the neighborhood. I even finished with a smile — mostly because I was laughing at myself, but a smile is a smile, right?

And, with that, I was totally ready to the Run the Rock, and I finished Day 10 of my RW Run Streak with 33 miles in the books!

~your busy little B

 

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in running, RWRunStreak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

