Harried, but Happy, Hiatus

Today, for the first time in 2012, I logged into my blog.

Have you ever put something down for so long that, when the time comes, you don’t know how to pick it back up again? Gotten so busy that you didn’t make time for the things you enjoy and then feared you’d forgotten how to do them? Put something off for so long that you’re embarrassed to admit it?

All those things — and more — are how I feel about this space.

I love to write. I love that thinking up blog ideas helps me appreciate the greatness of life’s smallest little moments. And I love to share my experiences with you. It keeps me honest. It forces me to be an open book. It’s the way I stay connected with so many of you who I don’t have the pleasure of seeing every day or even every year.

As life begins to settle (relatively speaking, at least), I’ve found myself itching to write. I thought about just starting up again. Acting like this little “break” never happened. But it did.

Way too many things have happened for me to just pick where I left off. And some of them are too cool not to share!!

This was our big, naked backyard before we moved in last year.

This is our backyard now.

Why, yes, that is an outdoor kitchen you see in the corner.
(A labor of love – or insanity – that Brad won’t soon forget!)

This was the kitchen before we moved in last year.

This is our kitchen now.
(Still some paint work to be done, but I find the cat to be an excellent addition. In case you’re wondering, that’s cork flooring and it’s pretty much the bee’s knees.)

Let’s not forget the finger fiasco that left me in a cast thru Christmas
and in physical therapy until March.

I finally settled a logo design for my recipes, letterhead, and other personal ventures.
Because everyone needs a brand, right? What do you think?

We are now the proud owners of four cats. Yes, four.
One boy – Marbles.
Three girls – Savannah (who’s still going strong), Zoe and Bella.
That’s a whole lotta estrogen in the house! No one is safe!

And then there’s this . . .

Yes, friends. Sometime around the end of August, we will have 4 cats and a baby. It’s pretty much the coolest thing ever.  😀

Throw in way too many long days at work, trips to the bathroom and restless hours of attempted sleep, and you get the last four months of my life.

With that, consider yourself all caught up.

I hope you’ll accept my apologies for the radio silence and come back soon for more.

xoxo
~your busy little b

About Beth

Wife, daughter, big sis, aunt, friend, attorney, runner, cyclist, amateur chef & aspiring photographer. Thanks for keeping up with my life on the run!
This entry was posted in cats, family, house, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

